Women’s land rights are human rights, says new UN report


One of my first posts in my blog was on this very delicate topic:

I deem it delicate because we all know that especially in Africa and some third world countries, women were themselves treated like property

So how does property own property?

Well, the status-quo is changing and now there are policies and publications : http://bit.ly/1aSSQoI   which hitherto were unavailable and this to me is a great push. I always boast of the fact that my own Grandma was the first woman in her village to inherit property and this includes land from her own father. she was even the one to ‘succeed him’ a thing unheard of back then!

There may still be much more to do for Women’s land rights to be fully implemented and upheld as such, but the future isn’t bleak no more and I think we can all agree to that…

Source: http://www.unwomen.org/

Leave a Reply

