WHY I CARE ABOUT GIRLS AND WOMEN


I have toyed with the idea of starting a page on my blog captioned “Men’s Corner’ and I guess I either do so before the year runs out or I am fake.
When I came across this article, I knew that it is high time I help in my own modest way to give credit to the ‘good guys’. We call them ‘A Woman’s Man’ and this has a very broad explanation and understanding.
The bottom line to me and speaking from experience, is that not all men do not want empowered or strong women, not all men are unfaithful or mean.
I will be developing on these later but for now, lets read this post and share our views…

Girls' Globe

My name is Yemurai Nyoni and I’m a young man aged 23 from Zimbabwe. At many points in my brief history as an activist for women and girls health I have been asked one question, “Why do you care?” My family, friends and colleagues have asked me to explain why I’m so passionate about changing the development status of women and girls, particularly as a young African man. To be honest in my society it’s unusual for a young man to look out for the interests of women, it’s simply unmanly and seen as a sign of weakness. I don’t really know how I landed in this space but I’m very confident of the reasons why I decided to stay.

IT’S A WOMAN’S WORLD

In the words of Her Excellency Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, the Chairperson of the African Union Commission

Women form half of the world population and give birth to the other half.

Development is…

View original post 858 more words

2 thoughts on “WHY I CARE ABOUT GIRLS AND WOMEN”

  1. Great post Marie.

    It’s good to know that there are men out there who are passionate about the welfare and development of women. Especially, a young man like that. It’s quite encouraging and I’m sure he will get far because he’ll have the support of women globally.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    1. Yes June,
      It’s so good to know. In my work on the Knowledge Gateway for Women’s Economic empowerment, there are some men but I never came across one that young and who engages so passionately.

Leave a Reply

