It’s my first anniversary in Belgium: Thank You all!


Selected for book cover

We surely all admit that transitions are challenging right? I have yet another evidence that they are but with steadfastness, we always survive…

I landed in Belgium on the 8th of January 2013 (but out of excitement I post about it today), and l was struck by two facts:

1) I just left my children and family oceans away and may not get to see them again in the nearest future – how sad l was!

2) The weather wasn’t welcoming at all and it was to say the least, trashing out my already fragile mood. It was -1° and it rained cats and dogs on that day!

I was depressed, poorly dressed, had no boots nor appropriate Jacket and above all, had very little and let’s say highly insufficient funds!

I started off badly in school and flunked woefully in one of my papers – well largely my fault, bad advice and lousiness thanks to my moodiness!

However, I got a lot of support too, both directly and indirectly. My Cousin in Austria even offered me opportunities and the other in Belgium tried her part too. My Family both home and abroad supported in their own way,   and I just can’t name it all!

l also meet my ‘Darling Darling’ and with his support and encouragement, coupled with my realization that l couldn’t keep up that low, l ‘springed’ back to Life.

I have since then braved it all in school, at my new home, and above all in my pursuit of a new career. I finally got hearing aids too.

l dared to dare and got myself jobs/internships in places like ICF-GHK a renowned consultancy, the European Parliament and the WIP Global Forum.

l met a lot of inspiring people both on and off line. My ‘e family’ is simply wonderful and they are growing both in quality and quantity each day.

My fondest statement of 2013 was when Portia Simpson Miller, the Jamaican PM said to me: “Relax Girl”. I couldn’t help but do a post about her as you can refresh here!

I met Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Dlamini Zuma of the AU and several other dignitaries, and I captured that week here.

I am finishing my first memoir which tells of my alter ego and my tough journey so far, albeit the emotional and spiritual one. You can read about my project here!

I ran a rally and got selected as a community champion for a UN Women facilitated platform for the Economic Empowerment of Women and 3 days ago I got another big Job offer!

Well, to crown it all, the internship I had which caused me some headaches and heartaches, but where I had a wonderful boss and decided to give it my best, has just landed me a confirmation.  I was just raised to Regional Manager for Africa!

For all the above, I say thank you to All, it’s been one big roller coaster ride for me and I wish my journey so far inspires, or what do you think?

9 thoughts on “It’s my first anniversary in Belgium: Thank You all!”

  1. Wow Marie! What an eventful year. You’ve achieved a lot so far. No doubt you’ll soar from now on.

    You are indeed a strong woman. You’ve managed to overcome so many obstacles and still smile. I admire your determination. And I applaud your successes.

    Well done! Congratulations on your new job. You deserve it. 🙂

    I pray that things will only get better from now on! More blessings and favour.

    Have a wonderful evening. God bless.

    1. Dear Nina,

      Thanks for stopping by.

      You know me so you know none of this is made up and that we can achieve when we believe, aim high and work hard!

      Cheers and all the best. Marie 🙂

  2. Marie, I read with joy, your journey- your transition, how you picked yourself up with encouragement from friends and family and forged on with your life. I wish you more fulfillment and dreams come true in the future. Perhaps reuniting with your children and family is a now accomplished dream?

  3. Timi dear, thanks for hopping by. Yes, there is always strength and hope in what remains if only we have faith. Thanks for all the wishes and I wish you same too. As for my Boys, I go see them next month but together again under the same roof, is a whole journey of faith all together 🙂

Leave a Reply

