Angelique: My first Belgian Angel and Heroine!


Angelique and I

We surely all know what it means to move countries right?

When I got a visa to come to Belgium, I knew no one. I had a relative or two in some corners of theirs but for reasons and circumstances, they couldn’t host me.

A dear uncle of mine, knew this lady and her family. He asked her if she could host me- of course for a rent. She agreed, and set the price at € 300 and they had a deal for 6 months.

He gave me that as a surprise package and his support for my future endeavours. I then prayed that this lady from far off Rwanda,  be more than a landlady of mine.

She came and picked me up from the airport and took me to her warm family. We had a special meal that night and she briefed and prepared me for the realities to face as much as she could.

She gave me my first boots – actually two of hers and although we weren’t sharing shoe sizes, I was so touched to have and squeeze my feet in them. I have since passed them on to some other less fortunate person.

She did all a big sister could in her best and possible means and she even became a friend and confidant too. I think I got much more from her than the contrary.

Today, I no longer live with her and I am doing much better. Yet Angelique and I are still so close.

My friend and I visited her during the christmas season and she dared screamed at the modest gifts we brought for her daughter and herself.

That is my Angelique and her name really tells it all. I truly wish her all the best now and always as she struggles with her own issues and life.

4 thoughts on “Angelique: My first Belgian Angel and Heroine!”

  1. Oh Ilove the story, most of us who have travelled abroad know what it is like to need an angel, I’m glad to see you highlighted Angelique. We all need an angel at different times in life, then we too are called to be angels once we have the opportunity. Great write up Marie

    1. Dear Mah,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving such an insightful comment.

      I am still meeting angels every now and then but above all, I am gladly being angels to others. That’s is also my passion, motivation and dedication. Could it have anything to do with my name which is Angele ( Angela in Greek) which means messenger of God?

      Have a happy Sunday. 🙂

  2. Another beautiful post Marie, my angel. I haven’t known you for long but you’ve been so supportive and encouraging to me. I thank God I met you.

    I believe that like attracts like. If you have a good heart you’ll also attract people with good hearts into your life. So it’s no surprise that you met your angel because you’re an angel too. 🙂

    Keep giving because you will always get rewarded.

    God bless.

    1. Junie dear,

      I am really looking forward to come to London and visit you. Your new picture is amazing for a woman your age and you are a very warm person too.

      Yo are right about like attracting like and I have always been blessed with angels in my journey.

      I sincerely wish you the best in your endeavours. Cheers, Marie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

