A Mother’s Love


Birthday gifts in abundance

I recently turned 35 and I received all sorts of gifts which moved me to tears. They varied from flowers, pullovers, beautiful messages and songs and yes a kindle which I had longed to have for so long.

I even got to be treated to a Japanese cuisine, of course the first in my entire life – oh what a show it was with this super concentrated chef who played with utensils and produced delicious dishes right in front of me.

IMG_20140118_205101

But there was one gift which touched me most and of course that was from my MOTHER!

I know the message comes from her heart and I reproduce it here for you all:

“On Thursday 18th January 1979, at Clinique de Berceau, after TD Fiscalite in IAE Douala  (where she was attending school at the time) I was blessed with the gift of a baby girl. We named her Marie Angele after an Italian member of the Focolare Movement, a renowned midwife who delivered her. She has brought a lot of joy into my life and even some tears. She is our l’homme de situations difficiles and a sure support in the most difficult and challenging of situations. She bears the names of her paternal grandmother and the courage and generosity of my mother. Ayo, you are every blessing that I could ever have prayed for. May God continue to bless you and bless others through you.”

Mother’s love they say is supreme and yes although I am sure to bring her more tears, I am surer of her unconditional love for me.

2 thoughts on “A Mother’s Love”

  1. That’s a beautiful note from your mum. It’s really touching. It’s nice to when your mum sees you as a special daughter she gave birth to.

    I wish I was there to eat some of that lovely Japanese food. Yummy! 🙂

    Glad your birthday was lovely. 🙂

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

