A Strong Woman by June Whittle


I am very excited because in one week’s time, all going well, I will visit my dear friend June in London.

I copy paste a large excerpt of what I consider her best post since discovering her blog (there isn’t a reblog option on her posts but I know she wouldn’t frown on my sharing it this way 🙂 )

A Strong Woman Is a Powerful Woman

Posted by June Whittle in Inspiration 

A strong woman is a powerful woman
A strong woman is a powerful woman

A strong woman is a powerful woman. Why? First of all let’s look at the definition of ‘strong’ to find out. The first thing that may come to your mind is ‘Physically powerful.’ However, there’s another definition in the dictionary which is, ‘Having or showing ability or achievement in a specified field‘. That’s what I am going to focus on.

I class myself as a strong woman. That’s because I have had to deal with some major challenges in my life. Instead of those experiences breaking me, they made me strong. I was determined to fight my way through because of my girls. Not only did I develop unusual emotional strength, I also learned how to fight negative thoughts that wanted to drag me down.

Some of those negative thoughts were:

  • I can’t go on.
  • I can’t deal with this.
  • I wish I was dead.
  • Life is too hard.
  • I just want to go to sleep and not wake up.
  • I don’t want to talk to anyone.
  • I want to be left alone.

And the list went on… But guess what? I knew that I couldn’t give up because my daughters depended on me. Their love helped make me a strong woman. Plus I am a fighter.

The reason for this post is to encourage you. I want to tell you that you too are a strong woman. I’ve got some quotes to share with you to motivate you.

  • A strong woman

Pain is something that can cut deep into your soul. I know! I’ve been there. In 2000 I had to deal with the deaths of three people I loved. They died within the space of nine months. The pain was extremely bad because those deaths were untimely. But through that pain, I became a strong woman.

  • A real woman

If you’ve been knocked by love and heartaches and bounced back, you’re a real woman! You know how to dust yourself off and start all over again. It’s great when you’re able to get back on track. Especially when you learn from whatever it was that knocked you down.

  • A prayerful woman

Praying has been my lifeline. It’s good to be able to pour out your troubles and forget them. Praying isn’t just about getting down on your knees with your hands clasped. I pray by simply talking to God. I always get a sense of peace afterwards. And He does answer prayers.

  • A successful woman

A successful woman will use her problems as stepping-stones to get to where she wants to go. She doesn’t see them as setbacks but as opportunities for growth. Have you had people laugh at you and tell you that your idea is stupid? Or that you will never make it? Or why do you want to give up your job to pursue a silly dream?

Negative remarks will make a strong woman determined to become a successful woman. My favourite quote is, “Winners don’t quit and quitters don’t win.”

Kindly read on the interesting rest at June’s fabulous blog (more images and quotes there too), while I repeat her closing remarks:

  • Have you experienced the harsh realities of life? What made you the strong woman you are today? Please share your story in the comment box below. If you liked this post, share it with your friends …

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Strong Woman by June Whittle”

  1. Marie, thank you so much. I am honoured that you shared my post on your blog. I appreciate all the support and encouragement you’ve shown me. 🙂

    You are one of the strongest women I know. And I applaud you for all you’ve been through and for your courage to share it with the world. I pray that other women will be inspired and motivated by you.

    I’m looking forward to meeting you next week. Once again, thank you for being there for me.

    Have a blessed day. 🙂

  2. Dear June,

    It is reciprocal and above that, I have fallen in love with Jamaica since knowing you. 🙂

    Not only was I so fortunate to meet you Prime Minister, but I am reading novels by a Jamaican blooger I met on the other blogging street. I am even learning Jamaican Creole so we speak some yuh? 🙂

    See you soon and all the best my Summer 🙂

  3. Dear Marie! It is true that quitters don’t win! Thank you for sharing your friend June’s post! It is beautiful! And I am so very glad you are going to meet her! Have a great time in London! Love, Vidya

Leave a Reply

