How I became a professional Cleaner


Wow, what a title as in what really are you, right? 

Cleaning

In my tale and profile and all, I describe myself as a dynamic woman. I have several passions which I guess were nurtured as I grew up free spirited and met and still do meet all sorts of people from all walks of life, countries, religions and all.

Cleaning just like cooking should be a given for every African woman, right?

At least I didn’t have a hard time learning how to clean up my mess after I played behind our house cooking with sand, hahaha.

I didn’t also have a hard time arranging my clothes and stuffs in the room, because when you share a room with your siblings you have to take care of your stuffs or lose them outrightly.

I have thus always loved to clean or tidy up and wash things right from childhood, and I remember my elder sister paying me with any dress of hers I wanted if I washed her basket of laundry and all.

This post is not just about cleaning, but about how I became a professional cleaner.

When I got married, my marriage didn’t start off right – nor end off right huh?

My husband didn’t care about ‘home’ and didn’t like staying ‘home’. I would wonder and ponder until I started neglecting ‘home’ too. l neglected the state of my home to the extent that it was almost comparable to a Chine pawn shop?

Chinese Pawn shop

I jolted back to my senses and thought maybe it was actually the mess at home that kept him away.  I decided to work on our ‘home’.

With regards to cleaning, I regained my passion for washing clothes and doing the dishes and all, and even though we had a maid, I did our laundry myself. I also got a painter to redo the painting and took an online course and then gave away many things and re-decorated our home.

It henceforth looked more of like this
It henceforth looked more of like this

I met a guy who made some cleaning products one of which was very good for tiles shining. A friend of mine gave me an idea to start a cleaning service for homes and that’s how I took off.

alternative-cleaning-materials

 

I teamed with this guy and giving my social networks, I got quiet some contracts especially for weekends. I even got to employ two guys.

cleaning_services

Well, not only did my house makeover not bring or keep my ex-husband home, but my new business venture “Angelu Cleaning Services”, was shut down by myself thanks to his pressure and insinuations.

Ange is my name and Lu for Lumiere was my ex-husband's
Ange is my name and Lu for Lumiere was my ex-husband’s

However, that is not the end of my cleaning services. When I came to Brussels, I realised it was a good thing I knew how to clean as a pro.

I got jobs to clean homes and was paid by the hour. Wow I was excited. I love to see the end result of my work and really don’t  feel I am ‘slaving’ or anything.

Ironing and doing the dishes are my favorite
Ironing and doing the dishes are my favorite

Today, even with a regular job, I still take on cleaning jobs every now and then on the weekends. My salary pays my fee installment and provides some for my boys back home, and so any extra income from my cleaning pays my bills out here.

Dear readers and followers of mine, here is my journey to becoming a professional cleaner and keeping my various passions nurtured. What is your take?

11 thoughts on “How I became a professional Cleaner”

  1. Marie, you’re a strong multi-talented lady. Good for you. 🙂 You’ve got so much to give and I appreciate you sharing. It’s inspirational.

    Maybe one day you can show me how to (really) clean properly. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    1. June, you rock:)

      Yours is a pretty clean place from what I saw, or did you just shine them things up fi me 🙂

      Whatever, when next I come, we could bargain our services right? 🙂

      Happy sunday.

  2. It’s interesting how doing something to keep a spouse opened you up to new possibilities, and a skill that is useful even after your marriage ended. I’m a little neat-freak. I clean out of necessity, not passion. So, I admire you.

    1. Timi, so you see here how livelytwist sets in right? same as with my becoming an amateur chef, I learned out of necessity, challenge etc and now I passionately practice both!

Leave a Reply

