Sweat it out, yes you can go that extra mile!


Go-the-Extra-Mile
Go-the-Extra-Mile

Lets face it, it is our decision to go that extra mile.

Except in extreme circumstances say of ultimate handicap, we can choose to do whatever we so badly want. An addict will get his ‘stuff’ at all cost. A patient will decide to take those medications or not and we may decide to stay broken down or give life another shot.

Today, I want to share with you how l sweat it out and go that extra mile in the mornings, at least 3 times each week regardless of the temptation to just ‘sleep a little more’.

Getting ready to leave
Getting ready to leave

When I weighed 115kg, exercise meant losing that weight and going an extra mile then wasn’t a choice. I felt ugly and soggy, I wanted badly for that ‘fat’ to go away. I couldn’t even bear to take a photo of me in 2009 when I rocked that weight:

I used to be this fat April 2010
I used to be this fat April 2010

Fast forward a few years later, a series of outdoor exercise, gym and diets or outright fasting, produced this:

At the gym Arusha 2012
At the gym Arusha 2012

It is then that l came to see exercise not only for the physical well being, but also for the mental and otherwise. It is this love and passion that gets me to go the extra mile.

Even when the excuses abound, l go

Oh, talking about excuses, we all know several of them right? DO we make them often? I mean not only when it comes to exercise but also to work or studies, relationships and life in general. So, when they just keep popping up, l silence them with telling myself l can. l cheer myself and maybe promise myself something if only l go that extra mile.

l am not an early bed timer. Where will I keep my numerous occupations, commitments, engagements and all? So, Ms. Ayo sleeps at 23.23 and my mind jumps chrono at 4.58. Imagine that nagging voice, oh l can feel that headache will come again, ah it’s still so dark outside, oh it’ still only 10°, don’t you feel those sore muscles? and it  seems it may rain… and on it goes.  sometimes l just let it rant for a while as I put on my clothes and lace my shoes. Once I put on my headset, all I can remember is the voice of my gym instructor cheering us back then as he chanted “don’t give up”.

Still so dawn?
Still so dawn?

Nothing worth getting ain’t ever easy

I have tried a lot of things in my life, I can say some. But I know for example, that even yoga isn’t easy, but that fitness has so much benefits too. I learnt that not even sewing was easy, but I found great satisfaction in my dedication to finish what I started. It takes engaging consistent and persistent action. We may or may not have the support of others, but it important that we are prepared to go that extra mile and no matter how hard it is, we can make it.

On your marks, ready, dash out!
On your marks, ready, dash out!

Get rid of the toxic thoughts and people

It starts from there. I told you how I deal with those thoughts and now this is how I deal with the people. I am an outspoken and very honest person since 2011 when l realized it wasn’t worth staying conventional and yet suffering suicidal all along.  l thereby not only cut off those toxic people from my circumference and in no nonsense language if l have words to spare, l may as well just ignore you and let the extra mile l go shut you up.

Yeah I went the extra mile, and you?
Yeah I went the extra mile, and you?

Dear gentle readers and followers of mine, have you tried going that extra mile? Just one mile at a time and before you realize it, you are becoming an amazement to your own self. Don’t forget that sharing is caring and liking is encouraging.

 

8 thoughts on “Sweat it out, yes you can go that extra mile!”

  1. Awesome post to read this morning after my 2 mile kayak excursion to watch the sunrise. The bonus part of my adventure today is that I overcame that urge to stay in bed, and because of that I had huge birds flying all around me and got to watch a bunch of bats eating bugs right off the river. Not to mention it is a beautiful morning and I feel refreshed now. Peace!

    1. Hi Timi my own friend,

      Your comments are so precious although l know do read and smile at my posts. I am glad you go the extra mile too. l am sure you are equally happier after each workout right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

