Gosh; Very Inspiring Blogger Award


What an award
What an award

Men, I used to hear that when good tidings come, they don’t rain but they pour. Just like with bad ones? I careless. I am simply happy that humble and modest me has once more been nominated for the prestigious Very Inspiring Blogger Award, which l accept with TEARS.

I am yet to be diagnosed, although l know l will soon have a name to call my ‘shaggyness’ ( a hopefully cozy term l am coming up with  for the likes of us whose moods and all swing at different rthyms which, maybe only us can manage?).

How inspiring was that?

lt all begins with my ‘shaggy’ friend H&J (If only it were H&M, l could be sure of several gifts of dresses, shoes and all 🙂 ). He gets nominated by not one but two pals :

KittO’Malley (http://kittomalley.com) and Breakdownchick(http://breakdownchick.wordpress.com)  and l can’t believe l am the first person he in turn nominates?.

Dear H&J, you got me real thinking so hard, searching for my dearest brother’s illness, so badly enough, that l could only but realize l too was sick. You inspire me. Well, if it is recto verso, then that’s even greater right?

He said this about my blog: 

 “I’ve only recently ‘met’ Marie but her no-nonsense and candid approach to the brain disease discourse is refreshing and leaves me hopeful for all of us.  Her compassion for others who are ill and her obvious love of her family are hugely endearing.  I love getting an African perspective, something I didn’t expect to have, and it always adds another dimension to the conversation.”

Am l that Candid and No-nonsense?

Let’s see how it goes in my acceptance speech; that is, going by the rules right?

The rules in accepting this award are:

  • Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
  • Optional: Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you
  1. Dear Dr H&J, with all due respect to that person deep within you, who has been shaken enough by this ‘rough life’, l want to thank you so sincerely for all, least of which is this inspiring award.  Please gentle readers and followers, if only for encouragement, visit his blog and give him several likes today or ASAP. It’s not easy living with bi-polar and l can only wish he were my own ‘brother’ to say the least.
  2. Thank you
  3. Seven facts about myself? Hmm, anyway, better than having to describe myself using each letter of the alphabet right?. 
  • Marie is just every woman. Ok, seriously, she is one of those who got shaken a little bit too much for her age, society, religion, tradition and conventions;
  • Marie thus became that woman, who suffered some ‘shaggyness’ and had to flee from her own self and former life, destroying in her ‘rage’, a marriage, her kids stability, her family’s honour, her society’s norms, her religious upbringing and least of all, her tradition; 
  • Marie is that woman, who is yet to be diagnosed, but who now knows a little bit more about the ‘shaggyness’ that plagued her and got her dis-interested in practicing that same law she had so worked hard for an abandoned a promising corporate career, to pursue;
  • Marie is once again a now attractive and 75kg woman who once pulled 115kgs of fat, and suffered great abuse and complex. To crown it, she even got called a witch once she started leaving her house at 4 am for rigorous work outs;
  • Marie is surprisingly that woman who once thought life wasn’t worth it, who once picked up a knife, and only dropped same thanks to a last minute reflection on her unborn child, her other sons and her poor mother among others;
  • This woman, is that unconventional woman who would not sit still right from childhood. She is one who annoyed her parents’ enough to be misunderstood by them and earn some good lashes or ‘unhelpful treats’;
  • But above all, Marie is the owner of this blog about her thriling life, emotions and love/hate affair with ‘shaggyness’. She is the author of one of those books which takes guts to write and publish and l think that says it all about Marie Abanga.

Now, l plead my case, l don’t know 15 bloggers to nominate. Not so much because l really don’t know bloggers, but because l don’t know bloggers who will accept this award and play by the rules. I will nominate five and if that disqualifies me from the award, then that’s fine by me all the same.

1) Vidiya the Smile Collector at http://vidyasury.com/

2) Lidiya the Success and happiness Cheerleader at http://letsreachsuccess.com/

3) Michelle and her babbling books at http://www.writer-in-transit.co.za/

4) June my Jamaican heroine at http://www.miraculousladies.com/

5) last but not the list is Timi my sister from another mother at http://livelytwist.wordpress.com/

I hope they accept the award and are glad to pass on the ‘baton’. They all write great stuff although none of them are in my ‘shaggy’ club. I have been very inspired by their blogs, especially those of June, Vidiya, Lidiya and Timi. My dearest Michelle, cheers the insecured writer in me on and she does an excellent job at the Insecured Writers’ Support group too.

Hopefully, my next book wouldn’t be such a fiasco? hahahahahaha, over to you gentle readers and followers. What says though? Are you happy for me or simply sorry at my bluntness?

14 thoughts on “Gosh; Very Inspiring Blogger Award”

  1. Thank you for the nomination, Marie!
    If it’s okay with you, I’ll leave all these awards here at your place, and you can store them for me.
    I’ll collect them when I’m ready to post.
    Looks like I’ll have to bring a big box to collect the awards when I fetch them. 🙂

  2. Marie, thanks again for thinking of me. You’re an inspiration to many. And I’m so glad you’re in my life. 🙂

    I don’t know 15 bloggers either. But I’ll do my best to pass the baton on.

    Enjoy your evening.

    1. My all time summer,

      lt’s a shared honour indeed. You now know why l couldn’t let even the trains stop me from visiting you last time right?

      Don’t worry, pass on to whomever you know and feel for, l guess my ‘shaggy’ bunch who started this will know it’s hard to put up a 15 man show 🙂

  3. Hi Marie, thanks again for nominating me. Keep doing your thing and spreading cheer wherever you go. I’m glad you didn’t succumb to depression and I’m glad you worked hard to be where you are now.

    1. Wait, which August guest is this am seeing?

      Oh no, Ananya herself? Thank you so much. You started it all through Vishal who in turn nominated me for the Quintet of Radiance award. Now, the awards are pouring? hahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

