Writing: My therapy and message!


Writing as theraphy
Writing as theraphy

Last week, my dear friend Michelle with the lovely title of writer in transit, (I also love adding that she has babbling books), and  who is an able admin over at the Insecure Writers’ Support Group, tagged me in a post on a blog hop about the writing process. This week, is not only pay back time but is above all, write on time.

My writing process or journey if l may use this word, is one where l chose to combine therapy and message. Maybe l am inventing this term but so be it – writotheraphy has been a life line of mine since childhood. When you have had the kind of difficult childhood, parenthood and mental-hood and other ‘hoods’  like l have, writing in journals, blogging and publishing a book, all help your coping mechanisms.

So here are the four questions l will attempt answers to before l pass on the ‘baton’ on this hop:

What am I working on/writing?

I have two blogs: This one and it’s brother over at Blogger.

They are both 7 and 3 months old respectively. The toddler which l created last March for the noble April A to Z challenge, I called it My everydaypersonal blog. l am however sorry for that blog given that l really shouldn’t have christened it so. l now find it a little  misleading. The last time I dropped a post there was maybe …?

I am more faithful to this blog which bears my name and where l write on my thrilling life, emotions and journey with a yet to be diagnosed mental illness and all.

I published the first of my memoirs last March and countdown deals are scheduled for soon. It is an unconventional book, not for the faint of heart, l must confess. I am also a devoted contributor of the Divorce Magazine, where my stories of a Twin Divorce and much more, only leave me all the more on ‘display’.

How does my work/writing differ from others in its genre?

Hmm, good question. My answer is simple. It may not be so different, but it is my story or rather stories? No ‘conventions’ being followed, no reservations made and no line drawn between my ‘personal’ (whatever it really means l really don’t know anymore) and ‘public’ life.

I am happy to be writing from my heart and talking about my challenges this freely especially my challenges with ‘mental illness’ and my search for a diagnosis. I recently wrote a post on being convinced something was wrong with me and l cant wait to finally see a psychiatrist.

Why do I write what I do?

Write life therapy
Write life therapy

Therapy and Message as titled. Simply put,  l want people to know how different perception can be from reality. l want to join the few bold ones in stigmatizing the stigma of ‘mental illness’ and to maybe even start wondering if they too did not have ‘a problem’. l am working on becoming a regular contributor on mental health talk.

Gosh, if l never wrote about all what l have so far been writing, most people who think the know me, wouldn’t believe if someone else told them. Many lives could be saved from suicide if only we cared a little bit more, tolerated a little bit more, understood a little bit more and sure, loved a little bit more.

I leave you to ponder more with these two quotes:

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self” – Cyril Connolly

“You don’t write because you want to say something; you write because you’ve got something to say” – F. Scott Fitzgerald

How does my writing process work?

Since l write about me most of the time, the memories or current events inspire my work. I also write about my heroines and heros and l have sort of a mental list especially of my everyday heroines and heros who range from my kind and gentle hairdresser from Senegal, to my dearest June from Jamaica, of course starting with my first and best – my mother.

So, now to passing the ‘baton’; I have just two friends who agreed to join my wagon. One is none other than my all year summer friend. June my Jamaican friend and heroine:

June for profileJune Whittle is a freelance copywriter and blogger. She has two personal blogs and a website that she manages and writes for. She also enjoys writing poems and short stories. She is working on her first fiction novel and eBook. She’s passionate about sharing knowledge, helping businesses grow and using her blogging skills to assist bloggers in educating their audiences.  She uses her blogs as a platform to inspire others.

June can be reached via the contact pages at Divine Copywriter and Miraculous Ladies.

The second is a cool guy who had the gentleness to nominate me for the very inspiring blogger award.

My dearest friend Dr H&J
My dearest friend Dr H&J

H&J is a twenty seven year old man from Yorkshire in the U.K who left his job and life in early 2013 in search of something better.  What he found, among new friends in Australia that December, was a diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder and finally his unusual life started to make sense.  Initially resistant to his diagnosis, then to treatment, H&J is now medicated and re-learning how to think and live with his illness.  He is the author of The Bipolar Bum (www.thebipolarbum.com) a blog about living and travelling with Bipolar Disorder and the founder of the Skype Support Initiative (http://skypesupportinitiative.wordpress.com/), a peer to peer support network.  He is currently in Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia.

They will post on the 24/25 and will in usual style, share summer roses and more, while answering those four questions l just did above.

Dear gentle readers and followers of mine, what says thou? Your every click counts!

9 thoughts on “Writing: My therapy and message!”

  1. Hi Marie,

    I hope you’re having a great time with your family. 🙂

    Thanks for tagging me on this blog hop. I love reading about your writing journey. As usual, you inspire me. I believe you have a wonderful writing journey ahead.

    Enjoy your evening.

    1. Dear June,

      At last l have a minute and some good tidings with the network. Thanks for all my dear friend and l can’t wait to read your post come Tuesday. Loads of Love from Douala 🙂

  2. Hello 🙂 I love this post. I, too write as my therapy. (Which some may find interesting, I am the author of the post you reblogged on EFT. I no longer write on this blog, only the one through my agency.) Good luck to you on your journey and thank you for sharing it with the world!

Leave a Reply

