30 Day Mental Illness Awareness Challenge – Day Twenty-Three


If I had a better choice, I would reblog several of Kevin’s posts. Indeed, they are so insightful and bold. Thank you Kevin for having taken this challenge and I cheer you all the way to the end.

Voices of Glass

30-day-challenge23Day 23: What is your opinion on therapy? (It can be any type, some examples are: group therapy, talk therapy, social skills training, exposure therapy, ERP, DBT, CBT, ACT,  marital counseling, and many more)

It’s an extremely interesting question, isn’t it?

And one which I think is very much worth asking.  Especially after yesterday’s question which looked at treatment via medication.

So I think I will start this post – and thus my answer to today’s challenge question – with a quote…

The most basic of all human needs is the need to understand and be understood. The best way to understand people is to listen to them.

It’s a quote by the author Ralph G Nichols and I think that, for me personally, this quote focuses on essential aspects within therapy – listening and understanding.

Now I qualify that remark by admitting that, when it…

View original post 1,435 more words

Leave a Reply

