Anxiety, me, and my family


Breaking the Stigma, Education is power – ignorance the norm?

Youth Of A Nation:Bent not Broke

Anxiety

My teenage son and I are trading anxiety disorder war stories and laughing together. He’s 19, handsome and strong and in so many ways more self-assured than I was or am, but at the same time, he’s awkward, and full of the insecurities of adolescence. Oh, and he seems to have inherited my faulty mental wiring, which means his psychological smoke detector goes off for no damn good reason. We talk openly and often about therapy, medication, and panic attacks that we suffer from. My own anxiety these days is a bit erratic. It can still swoop in and knock me off my feet like a rogue wave. I have no choice but to be honest when this happens because I can’t really hide it if stress-tears are rolling down my face. “It’s ok. I’m just having a panic attack. I’m going to go lie down for sec. It’ll pass,” I…

View original post 226 more words

2 thoughts on “Anxiety, me, and my family”

  1. Wow Marie, it seems that promoting mental health advocacy has really called to you after losing your brother. I think it’s beautiful and I fully support you. Have you looked locally for ways to get involved? Blogging is fun, and it’s nice to be able to reach out with people all over the world, but I have this feeling that you would really do amazingly with people in your local community. It’s just a feeling I have but it’s strong, so I hope you listen. I think any way to get involved locally with a club or non-profit would be really good for you. To be able to meet more people suffering with mental health problems, and help them would be really great and inspire you even more. Just something to think about sweety. Have a great day 🙂

    1. Thanks Zach,

      I have thought about it too. Iam kinda apprehensive because I am in a foreign land (Belgium) and their main languages here are French and Flemish which are not my favs. I would think again after I hopefully graduate from my LL.M next year. Already doing all this online, working and school and attempting motherhoo)d from across the ocean, are filling my plate and nerves. :

Leave a Reply

