Hospital Abuses: Psychiatry and Authority


I heard today is world suicide prevention day. Since the general claim is that mental patients are more likely at risk to commit suicide, l also wonder at the support they get from the system especially the hospitals they visit are or sometimes confined in. This is a sure poignant post.

WAGblog: Dum Spiro Spero

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PSYCHIATRIC UNIT
Stay away from this hospital’s psychiatric unit!

Most of what follows below is a cut and paste from past blog posts, plus the latest update, but I wanted to do so in order that newer readers would understand where all this comes from. And also understand why I am so adamantly opposed to the coercion of the Involuntary Outpatient Commitment bill.Although I am writing this on Sunday, April 1, I may update it further as the days go on…You might want check back in a while to see if there are  other  developments, though anything big will get its own post.

As I mention in the post below, I wanted to bring the incidents I describe to the attention of the office of Protection and Advocacy for Persons with Psychiatric Disabilities (Or Mental Illness). I did so, about 6 months ago, and after an investigation, they found that the hospital…

View original post 4,409 more words

Leave a Reply

