Book Review: His Bright Light by Danielle Steel


Gosh, I love this smile, bright light indeed!
Gosh, I love this smile, bright light indeed!

Introduction

My sweet friend John has this reading list on his blog: I heard him talk sadly fondly about this book and equally read his review. I knew I would loose the few hours of sleep I was getting, if I didn’t get this book. Only its cover brings you to tears. I had to read it quick and do my own review. Especially after suffering similar tragedy, the solace even in reading of others’ grief, is simply put warming.

I was priviledged to have my passion for novels indulged by my father. Books especially novels, have rarely been worth sacrificing the family’s scare income on. I however read Danielle Steel a few times, and it was all idolation. She writes basically fiction, so what was this one all about her son? You sure will want to check it out to find out more for yourselves.

The Book in her own words

This is the story of an extraordinary boy

'Mr Incredible' as he called himself...
‘Mr Incredible’ as he called himself…

with a brilliant mind, a heart of gold, and a tortured soul. It is the story of an illness, a fight to live, and a race against death. – See more at:

http://daniellesteel.com/blog/his-bright-light-the-story-of-nick-traina/#sthash.mUMtK3Vo.dpuf

I find it hard to copy and paste any further. I however dare some musings

My Take on this tragedy

Another one again? or before? (if you think it was ere in 1997 when MH was ‘worse’ (in terms of several things like diagnosis, treatment, stigma …) than today regardless of your fame/wealth – which she did). That is in America and she had money. It was easy for some to think he was a spoiled brat, acting up, out, within and what else?

I can’t help but compare to some extent, two women. Danielle and my mother. I will even add Madeleine Sharples, who is unfortunately in that category of mums who nearly lost it all. They all loved their boys so bad, were almost the only ones involved save for surrounding support (two of them atleast had that of their husbands), but they felt it hardest because those boys were very much their best friends and dare I say lover?

Look at his smile? My brother had similar, and so did Paul – Madeleine’s boy with such charming eyes. They were all so intelligent and passionate about music although each in his own way.

Passion, and what more do you see?
Passion, and what more do you see?

Danielle strikes me because she thought that even from the age of 2, something was wrong with Nicky (as he was fondly called). She pressed, harassed and pleaded for some diagnosis or even understanding. It wasn’t to be that easy.

The boy wasted away, dazed away and flew away in his brain (his numerous journal eentriesare worth the gold into understanding some of what goes on up there). He did all he could to ‘tame his demons’. He dyed his hair all rainbow colours, tattooed and undid them, redid bigger and daring one,  pierced wherever he could, tried strong drinks, drugs and even acid, before attempting suicide three ghastly times.

The Climax or anti-climax?
The Climax or anti-climax?

The end I guess is obvious. I yet encourage the brave of heart and sorrow to get a copy. Even if only to support the foundation in his honour, please do.

My Rating

Danielle herself says why she wrote that book, and has since then produced revised editions. I equally note how she felt better doing it (I feel same too after completing my brother’s). To read Danielle say she was prepared to try Voodoo to help her son if she knew how; confirms the unconditional love drive.

How on earth can I give this book less than a five star? She is not only emotional, but very rational in her writing and literary flow. She comes across to me as a very humble, modest and grateful woman. I simply wish her and her very big family well. She, an only child who brought forth 9 in return.

Dear gentle readers and followers, it may be sad that lots of such stories come up now and then, of lives lost so young or so tragically. Indeed, Nicky will be missed. He once confessed to his mum that he ‘dreaded turning 20’ – he left at barely 7 months to that birthday!

About the author

Nothing to add
Nothing to add

What can I write about Danielle Steel other than that she is the world’s current best selling author? She sure can be found everywhere: The road maps are on her website – http://daniellesteel.com/

Prologue

To add spice to my modest review, I received an email yes from Danielle herself this morning … whoop whoop whoop ain’t I someone? I never thought she would reply to a comment I left on her blog. A few appetizing lines go thus:

I’m especially glad to hear how touched you were by Nick’s book.  Nick was a wonderful, extraordinary boy with a huge heart and many gifts, and it meant a great deal to me to share him with you. I was so sorry to hear of the losses and challenges you’ve experienced in your life and that you continue to experiece.  I admire the courage and compassion you show.  It means a lot to me to know the book brought insight and was a help to you.  I hope you’re also seeking out counseling and medical treatment in Brussels.  My sympathies go out to you as a mother and woman, and I wish you all the best for the future.

Danielle Steel

Thank You, Danielle, thank you all. I am beaming for the whole weekend no matter the weather or environment. I wish us all well-so well!!!

11 thoughts on “Book Review: His Bright Light by Danielle Steel”

    1. Send me many more please my friend. Thank you, I was just about to go to your facebook fan page and listen to all there. I still will – it keeps me going as I work, in the office, at the gym, at home, on the bus everywhere. Thank you. Have a great weekend

  1. I read this book a few years ago when I was struggling with wondering if I was bipolar or not. It is a good book and I highly recommend it to others who are trying to understand someone with bipolar.

Leave a Reply

