If I can stop one heart fom breaking….


I planned on reblogging this post once I read it two days ago but life oh life – distracted my plans. I do so today with all my gratitude to my fav granny in this bsphere. Aha, I beg to say the same, tis why I really do all I do for this MH Advocacy path I have so passionately embraced.

Jill's Experiences with Mental Health , Stigma, Alzheimer's Disease, Grief & Grieving & serenade2seniors

 

a sunsetThis poem, written by Emily Dickinson, comes to my mind at least once a day, so I am going to share it as it means so much to me.

 IF I can stop one heart from breaking,

I shall not live in vain.

If I can ease one life the aching,

Or cool one pain,

Or help one fainting robin

Unto his nest again,

I shall not live in vain.

Almost every week I receive calls or mails from people in distress, people who have visited therapists, but who need contact with somebody who has experienced mental illness in a person who is near and dear to them, and it is at those times that this poem comes to mind. And of course I do what I can to ease their pain. There is not a lot that I can do, but simply by listening, really listening, and showing them…

View original post 7 more words

Leave a Reply

