Staying on top


Happy World Mental Health Day! I hope my poem resonates with the day and our effort to take care of our mental health in equal measures to our physical health. 

Is it that easy? Sometimes the brain threatens to blow off the top!
Is it that easy? Sometimes the brain threatens to blow off the top!

Were staying on top that easy,
none would ever below be!
It surely depends on you
what that top could ever mean!
I once thought it meant money
qnd other time it meant jolly,
But then l lost both
and my psyche really stayed below!

The colours could as well be ...whatever
The colours could as well be …whatever

I yet learnt to aim on top
But that the top was now a bed
and the most it meant was down to sleep
visited by bath, laundry and co!
Much later did some jolly resume
’cause l guess l ‘d really tried in staying on top!

I am trying as hard as maddie to stay on top of my melancholy
I am trying as hard as maddie to stay on top of my melancholy

p.s Poem’s Title inspired by the title of Henk’s blog recounting his difficult journey coping with depression. Visit his sites out of curiosity, especially this one, you will return out of much more 🙂

2 thoughts on “Staying on top”

  1. Your poem made me smile. It is interesting how we sometimes struggle so much to be “on top.” Your review will be up by next weekend. : D

Leave a Reply

