Families Healing Together


Read this wonderful post on what the system brainwashes desperate families with and what the author is doing in her modest but salutory way to help families heal together. I mean, as if having a loved one ill with some mental/neuro or whatever illness it is, is not heartache enough, stigma even from the ‘pschiatry community’ adds to the helplessness and hopelessness. I wonder how many family find the system’s blockage as frustrating? They shun you especially if you ‘paupers’.

Everything Matters: Beyond Meds

families healingBy Krista MacKinnon

I’ve worked in the mental health system for twelve years now, and prior to that was a patient for three. My family was educated to believe that I would be sick my whole life, and that they should have very little hope for my future. When I became a family counsellor, I vowed to never “educate” anyone in such a way. Since then, I’ve watched “Recovery” grow from a subversive whisper to a full-blown growing paradigm in mental health services. Countries have adopted Recovery and implemented its model into their health care planning, academics have studied it and written thousands of articles in peer-reviewed journals,  organizations have restructured and reorganized their teams to reflect it’s principles, and brave everyday people have told their personal recovery stories to friends, colleagues, conferences, and the media. Recovery is a strong political force, a narrative, a system, a way of life, and a tool. So…

View original post 354 more words

Leave a Reply

