Sibling Grief


My elder sister and I at the airport to receive Gaby's remains
My elder sister and I at the airport to receive Gaby’s remains

I know siblings usually grieve much more ‘internally’ than do the parents of the bereaved. Yet I couldn’t bring myself to “Grieve In” because I had once tried and it haunts me up to this date. Yup, it was my own one day old daughter I lost and as per ‘conventions’, you don’t openly grieve for such an ‘abomination’. The pain is there for real, the tale ever so pale especially if he died a simpleton like ours. No, I am in so much pain and it seems to be bearable the more I grieve it out.

Today dear readers, I want to share some pictures with you of this lone hero of ours (his three sisters left behind). I keep saying, if the fighter I am, the mouthful and strong headed and all, affirms that he is the only sibling I never had an argument with nor fought with, then that bond was rightly beyond blood. He was my angel Gabriel and surely same to us three.

Our journey starts with this dearest and pretty African Queen:

Mam in the same boarding we later went to
Mam in the same boarding we later went to

Several years down the lane it became this:

At first we were just three of us
At first we were just three of us

Our darling was very often jolly:

our little Angel Gabriel
our little Angel Gabriel

And some years later:

We are now four
We are now four

Our gentle man

He loved to ‘sap’ (always elegantly dressed):

On our way to Church
On our way to Church
I guess it was the Thriller fever era
I guess it was the Thriller fever era

And then it was Boarding school era when it all started:

First epileptic seizures start around this time
First epileptic seizures start around this time

And the journeys became very painful to watch him do so bad – and yet keep his smile:

Stage one of his journey - the day he talked of the last supper
Stage one of his journey – the day he talked of the last supper
In Germany with elder sister - his stage two as narrated
In Germany with elder sister – his stage two as narrated
Stage four of his journey, with kid sister in Boston
Stage four of his journey, with kid sister in Boston
Mummy's Rose and best friend
Mummy’s Rose and best friend

But all our love couldn’t stop his life from spiraling out of ours; meds and yes too many meds got into the way. His doctors said he needs to and must take them all. One said he weighed more than him so no need to worry. The journey get so bad and on the 2nd of August, 2014, we all learn our Angel is back to Paradise.

My darling's journey
My darling’s journey
6 thoughts on “Sibling Grief”

  1. Thank you for sharing these pictures Marie. They are beautiful. I send you a hug. I can’t even imagine the mix of emotions it must bring to look at these pictures. The review will be up soon my friend. Hug sent your way.

    1. Thanks Seb,

      It’s 2.30 am here and I can’t sleep. I tossed around for 30 or so minutes since waking up and I thought to come sit on my computer, work some and listen to music. Thanks for all

  2. I,m so sorry for your lost
    Accept my sympathy. I know how you feel
    I lost my dad and I, ve never recover his lost .i would like to buy 2 copies of your book.

    1. Hi Goodall, it’s so warm to receive such outpour of empathy. It’s been over a year and hmm am on a recovery path because I desperately needed to for my own sanity. You know those stages of grief? Despair, Denial… finally acceptance; ok am slowly but surely leaving Denial’s fringes … I wish you same too. It takes time for everyone, I don’t know if my mum for example will ever get through those Ds. That’s the bitter pill we have to swallow for living. My books are on the amazon, type my name and you’ll sure be led to some. let me give you the link to my author page: http://amzn.to/1ErbmgR
      All the best to you too

Leave a Reply

