Book Reviews of My Brother’s Journey


My dearest blogging granny of all times, is the first person to send in a review of My latest release. I was so excited to receive same, and I share with you. I hope many of us download the free kindle for this weekend, and find it in them to do a review sometime. Book Cover CS Thank you Granny, I love you too so much and hope to come see you someday. I lovingly deny I was the most able sibling, I just tried to be a loving sibbling just like my other two sisters.

” My Brother’s Journey from Genius to Simpleton, is a deeply moving, sensitively written account of one family’s struggle with a sick son. To compound matters, it took a long time before the correct diagnosis was given. Marie Abanga describes  her brother Gabriel’s deterioration into a deep depression and how her family battled to cope with the destruction of their once happy family caused by mental illness, without their father’s support. Marie seemed to be the most able sibling to give her brother the support he so badly needed and she gave of her time selflessly an endlessly.

This book was a hard read because mental illness and the subsequent death of the patient are such difficult subjects to deal with. I put myself in the family’s shoes while reading it. I discovered that many fathers are unable to handle mental illness when it affects their immediate families, and find solace elsewhere even though marriages seldom run smoothly. In the case of mental illness, families need the strength of fathers and mothers combined, more than ever.

In addition to endless other problems, Gabriel’s family had to somehow handle the stigma accorded mental illness. Marie’s dream is that one day, there will be no blame, shame and stigma associated with mental illness. And, that is exactly the way I feel and the reason I started blogging about mental illness. If we all speak out, there will be no more stigma.

In the midst of all this upheaval and upset, Marie continued to love her brother. I recommend this book to families with similar problems as well as to professionals working in the field of mental health.”

Jill Sadowsky

Author of David’s Story

Blogger at:- www.jillsmentalhealthresources.wordpress.com

And what do I say, feel or do when I wake up to comments like this?

” AYO,indeed,the subject matter of your novel emanates from the death of your beloved brother,yet the THEME you have handled is Universal and truly controversial at the same time.The issues raised keep haunting us on a daily basis and at different rungs of the society.A subject matter that many would avoid to discuss and may be scared to talk about but which demands the tack,skills,courage and determination of your type to handle.There is the pressing need for every individual,the world at large to turn attention to the most burning issues raised in this MUST READ NOVEL. Comments by ALEMJI SAMUEL ATABONG, Buea,Cameroon.” GM of ANUCAM Publishing.

5 thoughts on “Book Reviews of My Brother’s Journey”

  1. Hi Marie,

    I just downloaded Your Brother’s Journey. I’ll read it and write a review shortly. Well done for writing it. Your brother would have been proud of you.

    All the best.

    1. Vi, type that title on kindle amazon and it is free until sunday midnightn several including myself have already got it son share with all you know. It’s part of my advocacy and spreading the word and sharing

    2. Hey V, check out the bonanza post l did the links are there. You just go to amazon kindle and type my name or the titles and the books are free until sunday midnight, you have to have a kindle or download a kindle app and that’s free to on the amazon. Hope you get tgem cause several have including myself 😊

Leave a Reply

