I Quit


I thought l’d at last found a harbour
But no I have to quit
It’s nobody’s fault but mine
And so l quit
I’d tried so much to charm
Yet it hurts and so I quit
It’s never an easy thing to do
But hmm l just have to quit
Didn’t know I had so much to face
I need to first of all quit
It’s best fair to both of us
And so I quit
I take away so much
And will sure miss much
Yet am glad for what l leave
I really need a grasp on me
And hence I quit
I just know I have to face me
And the path is via the quit
Am scared but not marred
I’ll face it and sure make it
In life you can’t have it all
Someday even life will quit you
14 thoughts on “I Quit”

  1. Ayo, sometimes it is safer to take a step backward so as to see clear enough to take the long leap that leads to victory. I have been there several times and did not miss the next leap. Even where I am today is one of those steps backwards but I am sure that the leap I am about to take will lead to healing and renewal. You will surely take the leap that will heal and renew you!

  2. This is a very touching and emotional poem Marie. Every word you wrote is so true.

    I’ve always said, you’re a strong woman and an inspiration to me. I know life has thrown many stones at you. And you’ve used them to as lessons and made positive changes to your life. I pray you’ll continue to draw from the strength within you, to face whatever challenges lie ahead of you.

    Have a blessed day. 🙂

      1. thx sweet, l had some rough times especially these past weeks but l am getting there and looking forward to you know! l hope l get to call you before my quit is effective!

  3. You are right Marie. You can’t have it all in life. You win some, and lose some. But when you lose or win, take the lessons with you. I have quit many times, but in those times I have found the strength to return, and try to be better. Thanks for this great piece.

Leave a Reply

