Ep 9 MH talks and update on merrymarie


this morning’s talk!

If you want to refresh on my life’s thrilling journey, or better still if you haven’t read my book and would love to listen to my discussions on that, and if you have 50 or so minutes to spare, here is one:

Monica my Spanish graciela and Heroine


MM for Monica and Marie
MM for Monica and Marie

Introduction

A month or so ago, I was really not in good shape. “Melancholia starred and I hid my face.” It prodded and I just had to flee. Monica and I have been friends since we met online during the Knowledge Gateway for Women’s Economic Empowerment era. We were community champions and eventually found ourselves in the same target group for policy makers.

Barça here I come

Just landed
Just landed

Monica had kept inviting me to Barcelona and I had kept finding some excuse or the other. I mean there is always something right? But this time around, I am the one who started asking Monica for her availability. I had to flee from Brussels if only for a while. There was also another main reason for wanting to at least breathe the Barça air. My brother had once wandered there from Germany and he had been helped by some lady who kept him for two days before he took off. Monica was unfortunately now very busy with her recently began MBA program, family and all. Actually, the long weekend I identified was the same one her parents in law chose to visit with them.

Friendship in the air
Friendship in the air

The Treat turns into a Retreat

I pleaded with Monica who in turn pleaded with her husband. Hmm, I was invited, not to stay with them, but in a hotel managed by him. I won’t say further lest someone starts begging Monica. I don’t call her my graciela for nothing. Check the word up, it means blessing. It was out of the city in a fantastic place. I almost felt like I was in my village, close to the forest.

Peaceful Girona!
Peaceful Girona!

And it came to be that Monica picked me up from the airport, took me to the arenas where a table had been reserved for two with Spanish champagne, and thereafter showed me some round town.

What a welcome Treat!
What a welcome Treat!

The next day, I was pretty much on my own, I visited this village centre and took all the time to reflect on my life and this unwanted guest inside my mind. I even felt good enough to venture out into Girona by night! A first night date in months!

Hop on the tour wagon I did!
Hop on the tour wagon I did!
Girona by night
Girona by night

And the decision was made

Receiving the scroll right there in Girona!
Receiving the scroll right there in Girona!

Goodbyes are always the hardest to say. I was sad to leave Barça, and even more sad for what laid ahead. The decision was made to turn a great chapter of my life. One that had been brief but beautiful. Yet it had been painful and sometimes un-navigable. I made the decision to quit and to face it in all maturity. It took and still takes a lot of stamina. I barely have energy for other issues. I actually run away from any I think may add to my stress.

I’ll always be grateful

My siblings joke that I surely know someone in most countries of the world. Yeah I have this network flair. I love human relations and my instincts hardly play tricks on me when it comes to ‘people’. I have met several people in life, from all kinds of walks of life. You name them; these hands of mine have greeted the likes on Ellen Johnson and some prisoners, junkies and ‘shaggy’ people too. For Monica and all my other friends therefore, I’ll always be grateful.

Gratitude all the way
Gratitude all the way