I am not a Second-Class Citizen


As the year draws to an end, l guess it’s time to take perspective on a lot of issues. How do we treat mental health patients? How do we the mentally challenged and seriously ill treat or view our own selves?

The Bipolar Mama

This is what someone with a mental illness looks like This is what someone with a mental illness looks like

My name is a Lauren. I am a work-at home mom of two beautiful, happy boys. I have been with my husband for almost 5 years, married to him for 3 of them. I volunteer twice a week to a local café which is run by a nonprofit. I recently joined the local roller derby team. I vote. I pay my taxes. I am sure most are lost as what the point of this. I mean I seem like a pretty normal member of society. However, when I throw in that I was diagnosed as with bipolar disorder when I was 16, the viewpoint changes. Because it seems that many have a hard time seeing past the disorder. Why? Because for some reason we aren’t able to change on the general public’s idea of what mental illness looks like.

I…

View original post 792 more words

Leave a Reply

