Book Review – Yesterday, I Cried: Celebrating the Lessons of Living and Loving by Iyanla Vaanzant


It’s been a few months since my last book review. Not that I had or have run out of books to review, but actually because I had yes, so many tears to shed. (Both figuratively and for real – am even still crying). Yet, I have decided to give the book reviewing craft another go, because I am passionate about such artistic forms of expression. The book I have thus chosen to resume this new year with, is most symbolical and phenomenal. Just read its title once more, then google it up to attempt going through the formal 171 reviews it has attracted in its 15 years of publication. The best for me, is the author herself who is simply an amazing woman.

maybe it could even be everyday and yet we have to try to celebrate amidst the tears
maybe it could even be everyday and yet we have to try to celebrate amidst the tears

The Book or rather the Résume

What is the lesson in abuse, neglect, abandonment, rejection?
What is the lesson when you lose someone you really love?
Just what are the lessons of life’s hard times?
Bestselling author Iyanla Vanzant has had an amazing and difficult life — one of great challenges that unmasked her wonderful gifts and led to wisdom gained. In this simple book, she uses her own personal experiences to show how life’s hardships can be re-languaged and re-visioned to become lessons that teach us as we grow, heal, and learn to love. The pain of the past does not have to be today’s reality.

Celebrating the Lessons

“Life is about cleaning up the crap and, while you’re doing it, being okay with the fact that you have to do it…. A word of caution. You can’t get caught up in the crap! If you do, you will surely lose sight of the real meaning of life and lose your Self.”

Iyanla Vanzant knows plenty about dealing with just such “crap.” She has led a difficult life, full of periods of abuse and self-loathing, but she has managed to learn “the lessons beneath the tears” and move beyond her grief and into understanding. In Yesterday, I Cried, she passes these lessons along, continually stressing that past hardships can and should be used to teach us how to grow, heal, and love others and ourselves. The message is one that has been echoed in her bestsellers One Day My Soul Just Opened Up and In the Meantime, but when presented as a memoir, the result is particularly moving.

Iyanla

For better portraits, just google
For better portraits, just google

There isn’t anything I can say about Iyanla which isn’t everywhere and I mean including on O. here is a snipet from her website:

“What I have learned from all of the difficulties in my own life is that human beings have very thick skin. I call that skin, spirit, our Highest Most Powerful self. Spirit is the key to everything we desire. It is our weather-proofing, our Teflon, our line of credit that assures if we just keep putting one foot in front of the other, one day; there will be a miraculous payoff.” IV

I will be reviewing the few of her other books which I have read in the coming days. permit me to share some of my own current crying while celebrating the lessons just like Ms IV encourages.

I am still crying

I am now certain tears are not meant to stop in one’s life time. When I did a recap of the lessons learnt in pale 36 years on an existence, one the wonders was that I had foolishly hoped to be immune from pain by now. Oh no, pain is life companion it seems. Pain brings tears and I am happy I have learnt to shed them out which way suits me. And now, reading, and learning and sharing, from and with the likes of Ms IV, keeps me merrymarie no matter how depressed I may be. You know how you can be that low and not wanna leave your bed, draw the blinds or even see anyone, and yet you know this too shall pass? I think that is what enables to put the cry into a yesterday affair. I don’t think Ms IV is free of ‘crying’, hell no. I think she has learnt how to celebrate even with those ‘tears’. That’s what I am currently doing as I so desperately look for a new abode once again. I was wondering why it is said it never rains but it pours. I however know there is a solution and I will celebrate louder very soon. I am not crying in bed, no. I cry within me as I apply over and over again for rooms, studios, flats and all and yet get turned down for just any reason by the landlord. One said he didn’t like my profile, another said he’d had issues with African enough, a third said I was too old to be a student and what else.

Dear gentle readers and followers, lets not be stalled by the challenges we face. There is even if only a very tiny ray of sunlight somewhere. It may be just too difficult to look and the tears just blur it all. But who knows, if we don’t give up just yet, we may sure celebrate the lessons of living and loving just like Ms IV.

Visit her website and there you’ll find all the links you need to that great woman described as: ” one who embodies a no-nonsense approach in her message and teaching style. Outspoken, fiery, transparent, truthful, and sage-like”.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Yesterday, I Cried: Celebrating the Lessons of Living and Loving by Iyanla Vaanzant”

Leave a Reply

