Treating Myself to a day at Bruges, a UNESCO World Heritage City


The famous Burg or square
The famous Burg or square

Wow, what a day? If I don’t publish this post tonight am not sure I’ll sleep. I am so tired, so fulfilled, a little morose, excited and what again. Ok straight to the story. I didn’t even know Bruges meant Egg in Flemish. I mean that place or rather the trip itself made feel eggly 🙂

I had received 2 return 1st class tickets from the Belgian Railway Corp for my Birthday last month. Well, I was going through and facing stuffs and so using those tickets wasn’t even on the list. They were to be used before the 28th so it said, and so when I realized I really needed to give myself a TREAT, I knew it was this weekend or none. Also, being “whoopingly single”, meant that it will be the first time in I can’t even remember the last time, I was treating just me and me alone this way. It had always been either with parents as a kid, friends, ex hussy, my own kids, and so on.

I slept just 4.30 hours Friday night probably anticipating the TREAT. Oh my, it was wonderful. Apart from treating myself to frozen yoghurt and a waffle (I haven’t had frozen yoghurt since I came here) , I didn’t stop any other second to eat or drink whatsoever.

Not feeling guilty about having frozen yoghurt in that chilly weather
Not feeling guilty about having frozen yoghurt in that chilly weather

I went on a guided tour via the canals, in a canoe (another first time)

I was blushes
I was blushes

and then stopped in a café to have coffee. It was there I met a man ( a senior citizen I must add). He had been drinking his beer quietly until I enterred. Bam he saw me and came all over me like a good flu. No matter how many times I told him my name was Maria, he called me Juliana. He offered me Bruge Beer (called Triple BB) and said to take it along as Souvenia (his words).

He said he had a very youthful spirit mindful of his age.
He said he had a very youthful spirit mindful of his age.

Here are a few more pics, I am so tired but I have to go tomorrow to Antwerp so as not to loose the other return ticket. I thought it was meant for who accompanied me, but I was told it didn’t matter if I accompanied myself sort of.

20150221_113129 20150221_113325

All Bliss indeed
All Bliss indeed

Indeed when we have the opportunity to TREAT ourselves great, lets do it with Bliss. We really have but ourselves to face in the end. I thank all those who wished me a pleasant trip, indeed it was one… à suivre

7 thoughts on “Treating Myself to a day at Bruges, a UNESCO World Heritage City”

  1. I loved this post! The pictures and descriptions of your adventures were so much fun. Your sense of humor lifts me up. And now I’m hungry for some frozen yogurt & a waffle! May the adventure continue – I’m living vicariously through your joyful travels. XOXOX

    1. Oh my lady thank you. And what about the Knight l had for like 15 mins? I was so tired by the time l got back home, even my phone’s battery had died. I even forgot the sesame bar l’d taken along in the morning. Today is another day: what will we get this evening? à suivre : )

Leave a Reply

