I am an Area Girl: post dedicated to my dear Lady Dyane


Who is a proud Area Girl?
Who is a proud Area Girl?

There are two main reasons why I dedicate this post to my dear Lady Dy over at Birth of a New Brain. First of all, she calls me a global traveler (l don’t travel that much to be honest, but am happy to be called one because l sometimes travel that far in my head). Secondly, I hope the post inspires her ahead of her support group meeting this afternoon. So my lady, if you face this meeting like an Area Girl, you’re sure to survive and why not thrive.

And so my story goes, I so was sent on a mission to Abyssinia (I learnt there that it was the Amharic name for Ethiopia). This Country is so unique in several ways. Ok, for a start their calendar is 5 or so years behind “ours “. Their time is 6 hours behind “most of ours “, and their language and writing are another discovery channel of their own.

I knew that to get along/around without being “duped ” nor feeling scared and insecure, I had to wear on what l christened “My Area Girl Aura “. I didn’t want to be treated as a “Mary just come expat ” or whatever close to that you know. I didn’t confine myself to the comfy/safety of hotel/chauffeured cab etc, to and fro meetings. Ah no! I made a few local friends following my instinct.

One of such was Helena who worked at the hotel as a ‘Support Staff’  in the wellness center. I had gone there to check out the famous ‘Moroccan Bath‘. She took me around and we had the famous Ethiopian Coffee right inside one of those sharks. She also took me to her home, and there l met her husband and ate their traditional meal.

My rafiki showing me around the real areas!
My rafiki showing me around the real areas!
I was even showed how to prepare and pour the coffee
I was even showed how to prepare and pour the coffee
Savouring the coffee myself
Savouring the coffee myself
Time for the real Item Eleven. To welcome a loved one, you feed them their first mouthful
Time for the real Item Eleven. To welcome a loved one, you feed them their first mouthful

That is how much of an Area girl I can be. And so my dear lady Dy, you already are an Area Lady as far as creating/organizing such support groups is concerned. You even have some Helenas out there to assist you, and sure there is Lucy. They have stood by you for long you say, and one will be the time keeper right?

Lady Dy and Lucy
Lady Dy and Lucy

So know this, what you are about to do is awesome. Just because the other times you tried and got stuck, doesn’t mean this other group is already doomed. I promised to be your fairy godmother, and you said you start at 2pm pacific standard time. I’ll light a candle then (it’ll be 11 pm here in Brussels and just timely for a vigil and fairy takeoff); and then I’ll wear that aura which reminds me that I’ll and we’ll survive and why not thrive…

16 thoughts on “I am an Area Girl: post dedicated to my dear Lady Dyane”

  1. Reblogged this on Birth of a New Brain and commented:
    This brief post is an amazingly beautiful, touching tribute that I’ve received from my virtual Fairy Godmother Marie Abanga. Marie’s compelling tale of her journey and her vibrant photos (not to mention the other parts) brought tears to my eyes. I couldn’t ask for a better way to start today.

    Marie, you beautiful lady, thank you from the bottom of my heart and soul for this. I just wrote the group agenda and during my welcome, I’m mentioning that you’re lighting a candle in faraway Brussels to help set us up for success! I’m so deeply moved. I rarely re-blog as you know, but I felt compelled to share the love and positivity that you, my role model/Area Lady/Fairy Godmother. possess.

    Love, love, love,

    Lady Dy, a.ka. Area Lady

    p.s. the line “Their language and writing are another Discovery Channel of their own” is beyond-the-beyond! Fantastic!

    p.p.s. The photo of you drinking the special coffee is sublime. I want some now! (please.) 🙂

    p.s.

  2. I just reblogged this post & I wrote:

    “This brief post is an amazingly beautiful, touching tribute that I’ve received from my virtual Fairy Godmother Marie Abanga. Marie’s compelling tale of her journey and her vibrant photos (not to mention the other parts) brought tears to my eyes. I couldn’t ask for a better way to start today.

    Marie, you beautiful lady, thank you from the bottom of my heart and soul for this post. I just wrote the group’s agenda and during my welcome, I’m mentioning that you’re lighting a candle in faraway Brussels to help set us up for success!

    I’m so deeply moved. I rarely re-blog as you know, but I felt compelled to share the love & positivity that you, my role model/Area Lady/Fairy Godmother possess.

    Love, love, love,

    Lady Dy,
    a.ka. Area Lady

    p.s. the line “Their language and writing are another Discovery Channel of their own” is beyond-the-beyond! Fantastic!

    p.p.s. The photo of you drinking the special coffee is sublime. I want some now! (please.)

    1. oh lady I am honoured. Em as for the Coffee, you need to buy a plane ticket. But would you rather waffles or coffee after all? i could bring you some in the summer. Yes, greet your group mates and tell them Marie from Brussels will be up for an hour, with a candle lit for us all. I do teach you words huh? 🙂

  3. I meant the first two “thoughts” that are posted above here – if that makes sense! Does it? It’s only 6:18 a.m. and I haven’t had a cup of coffee yet, my gorgeous.

    I’m still over-the-moon about your fabulous post! Thank you a zillion times!

    Your little survivor-thriver,
    Lady Dy

    p.s. I also tweeted/Facebooked your post and started following you at long last on twitter.

      1. I will! Check your Facebook later (please) – Hugs to you – I’m still smiling due to reading your post, and it’s seriously been almost an hour!!!!!!!

  4. I enjoy your posts but this one really struck me. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, your dreams, your highs and your lows. Thrive! What a great concept.

Leave a Reply

