Speak out for mental health


I really love this post although and helas, there is still so much stigma, shame, discrimination and that huge embarassement surrounding any discussions or existence of mental illness. We can only do our widow’s mite. My current memoir in progress is very much around mental illness, my mental challenges, as I strive to survive and thrive each day. Thank you Granny for sharing. I’ll also use any opportunity I have to speak about mental illness… and you gentle readers?

Jill's Experiences with Mental Health , Stigma, Alzheimer's Disease, Grief & Grieving & serenade2seniors

I speak out for mental health because –   I never want another mother to experience what I did.

Blame, shame, discrimination and stigma are the result of NOT speaking out!

When I give a talk or blog or write articles, my message reaches many people who I can help, as I gained a lot of eperience while living with my mentally ill son.

I learned a lot by watching how my son’s illness affected the rest of my family.

I am quite prepared to pass on any knowledge I have gained.

Talking about stuff in your brain is no different from talking about what is going on in the rest of your body.  Why should a discussion on improving our physical health be different from improving our mental health. It isn’t brave to talk about mental illness. It should be natural as the things that are happening in our brains so…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

