In Honour of three Gorgeous Dogs: Lady, Lucy and Tiro


Poop-Scooping-for-3-Dogs

This is surely a one of its kind post I admit. Come to think of me an African, paying honour to dogs? A friend of mine out here will simply say that the world is now turned upside down!

And with this introduction, I wanna pay hommage to three gorgeous dogs. Two of them I have never met, two of them I’ll never meet (because they are dead), and one of them I am hoping to someday meet while visiting a dear lady friend of mine.

So here is my hommage to this trio, starting with Tiro:

When I was a kid, we had a pet called Tiro. My brother and I so loved him, he was known as our pet. He lived in a cage (not the more too often stray african ones), ate some good bones, and enjoyed our company as much! One day, I now think he was sick and probably dying, my father bundled him and up we went to a far away beach. There, Tiro was abandoned. I’ll rather just wanna think he was sick and dying. I was still young then to understand the type of relationship one could have with a dog. Fortunately, I have met some blogger friends through whom I have come to learn much more about these gorgeous animal friends we could have.

Lucy the miss who just turned one

Lucy and Diane
Lucy and Diane

When you have a pet with whom you share the same birthday, then I think that pet could only but be a blessing. Poo and pee aside, the love will go beyond several conventions. My lady over at bravely bipolar, has found some very very special love in her cuddle called Lucy. She shares the adventures of Lucy and herself in some of her posts, and only by closely looking at Lucy’s picture, we can understand how she can only be love and peace. I couldn’t really understand the attachment people out here in the East, had to their pets. But the more I learnt, the more dogs and dog owners I met, the more I came to realise how painful their death could be. So painful especially if they died in your arms like Alaina’s Lady did a short while ago.

Al’s fair Lady, gave up her breathe just like that

Ain't Lady cute?
Ain’t Lady cute?

I just spoke with Lady’s mama Alaina, and she still tells me how much she misses her fair Lady. She told me that 5 years ago before they adopted Lady, she a previously cat person, could never guess the relationship that was possible with a dog. I also have several other friends who have told me that their dogs are their life savers and source of more joy than otherwise.

Hmm, could human beings have such a relationship with dogs? Is it true we are also social animals or do we tend to forget that in our treatment of other animals? Could we love or respect others ‘unconditionally’ without prejudice as to race, religion and ‘rackets’?

Dear gentle readers and followers, I am an open spirit person and decided to learn what it was about dogs that led people especially in the west, to have and treasure them.

A big cheers to all dog owners and lovers.

3 thoughts on “In Honour of three Gorgeous Dogs: Lady, Lucy and Tiro”

  1. Oh, I love every word of this post – you truly understand pet love because of your experience sweet Tiro. Thank you for including Lucy – I couldn’t believe my eyes when I opened up my WordPress Reader this afternoon and saw the picture of us when she was so tiny, probably 10 pounds! Now she’s around 60 pounds, my big girl! In my excitement, I showed your post to Lucy, but she was more interested in her new bone! 😉

    Once again because of your thoughtfulness, insightfulness and your love, you have brightened up my day. You also lifted my spirits and confidence when you lit the candle during the very hour my first support group met. Bless you for being such a positive force in my life! I am so grateful for you, and I hope you can visit me someday in California!!! XO

  2. Thank you, as a dog lover, for this wonderful post. If you want to make me cry hopelessly just tell me to picture the moment my wonderful Zoom will die. Dogs are a constant reminder of what is best in us. We can’t be like them, but we can try. I love my cats too, I love all animals. But a dog is an animal that evolved from a wolf precisely in order to be our friend. You can’t really beat that 🙂

Leave a Reply

