The Power of Self Motivation and the Value of True Friends


Self Motivation

Hello world, this is the sequel to a rather depressive post I just shared.

I have been motivated several times in life by others, my Life Coach, My Family, My True Friends (very very few in number to be honest), but above all else, I have come to be my own best cheer leader. I know my Faith sees and keeps me through. It wasn’t by chance that the sub title to my recently published memoir is: “Finding the Strength in what remains”.

And so since Monday, I have pushed and pulled myself to leave the bed and the house. This morning of all, I made it to the gym, and wow, I stayed there for a good one hour. Three different workouts and feeling better and better.

And then I biked to my dear firend’s and I did it in record time without stopping even once on the small slopes which have up till now been tormenting me.

Indeed, my aunt was right when she urged me to count my blessings  with joy and stop that negative thought pattern of all what I didn’t have ‘Yet’.

The Value of True Friends

True-friend-HD-quote

I have two of them in this Belgium. There is one I call my Super Super Hero. He got me a one year gym subscription last year when my brother died. He with my other special friend, thaught me to bike in 10 days, and then he went ahead to get me a one year Villo! subscription. Above all, he has given me a job at his home where I am welcome each day. I am the chef and the cleaner (both of which I so love doing). My pay is in a friendship no amount of money can equate. There is no day I go hungry. There is no discussion I can’t have with either of them. We all share our darkest and brightest thoughts. We cheer each other up.

Dear gentle readers and followers, I feel so blessed and grateful and yes graceful, to be able to motivate my own self this much. I call my name out loud and say “Ayo you can do this, just bike hard and one more effort before you decide on quitting” (of course often I make it, though sometimes I quit for a moment). I above all am so grateful to have true friends in my life like DD and CB!

Wishing us all a pleasant weekend ahead

4 thoughts on “The Power of Self Motivation and the Value of True Friends”

  1. My dear Marie,

    There’s nothing better than having a true friend or friends you can rely on. I’m glad you have friends around you to support you. That is indeed a blessing. 🙂

  2. Hello Marie,

    I got truly inspired by your post, but what would be my situation if I don’t have the friends like whom I can call them as my best buddies?
    World have become very selfish today and at present humanity is not more seen in people to courage the one or to motivate…..

    I feel lonely sometimes but then, it gives me reason to think that it’s better to be alone than being in company of fake people.

    1. Hi Payal, thanks for stopping by in the beginning of a fresh new year full of such hope. I mean, your comment is motivating in itself, cheers me on to keep blogging because I never know who I cheer in return 🙂
      As I admitted, ‘real friends’ are so few and far between, sometimes you could find them only in the most unconventional and ‘weirdest’ of situations. I have also become my own best friend, gradually blooming from that dreary lonely girl who craved for attention and so badly wanted to belong and fit in, to that cherry merry for real Marie more often than not happy in her own company and online, and even stingy with my time. I hope you grow to find what works for you and get to be your own best friend first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

