Oh my, what an appointment from my initial disappointment!!!


It was only but recently that I wrote about finding the ability in my disability. Now, I want to share another wonderful appointment I found after an initial disappointment.

A little synopsis

I made an eminent acquaintance 2 years ago on LinkedIn, the President of the International Criminology Society. We kept in touch and last month he invited me to a symposium in Onarti close to Bilbao in Spain. Little deal was, I just had to get to Bilbao and the rest will be taken care of.

Damn my current incomeless generating self right? Well, savings and an exceptional friend would get me there. Even if I had to take a 6 am flight just to pay the minimum fare.

Initial Disappointment

Yet, pickup from the airport of Bilbao to Onarti, was arranged for 7.30 pm and there was no room for whinning. What was I going to do from 8.30 am till 7.30 pm? Yes I love reading but for all those hours at a go? Even the batteries of both phone, kindle and laptop will die out from continuous use right? And to me that will be close to reading under duress 🙂

I didn’t even want to also think about eating at the airport!!!

Bigtime appointment

Before I leave you with a tiny gallery of my wanderings, let me say that I was very happy to find out later there was another pick up arranged from a nearby spot close to: uh huh the Guggenheim. Even my friend Pammy said she’d heard about it.  It’s a famous Museum of modern arts – one I had never heard nor dreamt of, but one I was now bent on visiting – em from the outside since I was on a lace string budget 🙂

So, Mary Just Come to Bilbao, found her way into the city and almost forgot she  was there to attend a symposium… To say I toured that beautiful city is an understatement. Ok, first I had to find a locker to keep my luggage, then I had to remember to go get it at 6 pm. Hmm; I found one at the train station where I paid… One Euro!!! Then if I got lost, even that spanish I will speak. Fortunately I also have a good sniffing sense of bearing 🙂

I admit mum adviced to do some r’eading’ (this I did) and ‘safe sightseeing’, but really I don’t like to take ‘safe or fear’ in my wanderings

I used bus, tram and train with a day pass, and jollyly (if such a word exists) went from end to end. Then my feet hurt because we went into the ‘areas’ (those you wouldn’t find on the tourist map sort of). My feet and I even stumbled on an open air movie studio set in the 1950s or so (first time ever to see any movie studio)

P.S: A BIG BIG Appointment especially when I realized Onati was over 150 kms away from the Airport of Bilbao and not even in the direction of the city. Sure Onati is a wonderful 18th Century village and we are lodged in a landmark castle belonging to some vip count of in those days… but still I am happy I visited all these places

2 thoughts on “Oh my, what an appointment from my initial disappointment!!!”

Leave a Reply

