Oh my African Traffic: If it’s not the cars, it’s the cows


You see the new life I chose to return to? Inshort, let me not even start winning. Those cows are herded to the far end of the main street in my neighbourhood where there’s a slaughter house. They are in no haste to get there and the herdman doesn’t want to shoo or try them.

So dear world, I wanted to write a blog post today, I mean another one, but am still at the office and when I think of how I’ll get home… I just better relax my nerves right? A distance of 15 km might as well last 3 hours

traffic in Camer

4 thoughts on “Oh my African Traffic: If it’s not the cars, it’s the cows”

  1. As it happens, my nickname in high school was “cow” because I love them. I get that from my mom. I actually had to tell people not to give me cow stuff anymore because I got so many stuff of the black-and-white kind that I had a whole couchful. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway, this reminded me of the time a huge alligator (crocodile?) decided to take a nap in the middle of the road. It had crawled out of one of the lakes…it was rather odd to see my dad and some other men try to (unsuccessfully) move it.

    Anyway, have a good day!

    -Shannon Richey, from my iPod.

    1. Dear Pq, thanks for your comment. Reading it made me chuckle in the traffic which was blessed with some mighty showers em cats and the cousins having a row over a bone or something? We say back here that no one car sleeps on the road meaning we all just keep going at any pace and we arrive ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow Marie! And we moan about the traffic in the UK. Most of us wouldn’t last an hour out there on the roads, because I’m sure frustration would take over.

    But, getting stuck behind a herd of cows is a fantastic way to develop patience and learn some new maneuver skills ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy your evening.

    1. Junie you can say that again. Out there the roads are cool to put it simple, and drivers generally respect themselves. I mean you don’t need traffic lights and traffic police just to get cars to to respect so road code. And yes behind the Iyo cow, you learn some good patience and even use that time in meditation ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

