Dearest Darling Dorcas My Heroine


image

There is DDD with whom I just spent the night, changing her Son’s diapy. I missed being by her side last year while she laboured for four good days before finally giving birth via a Csection. Oh my DDD who was ever so present before,  during and after my 1st son Alain was born.

Precisely, we met 13 years ago when a pregnant me dragged her mass around looking for, yes a hairdresser again. I am picky with that you know and just like in Bamenda with Vera’s mum, I wanted to find someone my spirit could spot, if you get the point. I was all by myself in Yaounde back then,  where I currently am once more for work, and this too is a pleasant surprise. And so, going back to then, I toured the neighbourhood and finally settled on the salon where DDD worked.

Since that day, she did my hair as often as I could spot her. And we relocated to Douala almost around the same time and so she kept doing the hair.  In short, I didn’t go to the salon anymore, she came to my house or I went to hers which ever. Reminds me of Fati in Brussels.

When I returned to Cameroon in August, I prayed my Lord and Luck to reunite with my 3 special sisters who are Beautiful Bea, Virtuous Vera and of course DDD. I was moaning to the heavens on the 30th of November how I didn’t want to enter December without meeting DDD to round up my lucky reunions.

I mean all the reunions happened like in the movies. BB I met on my way back from church, on a day I had almost not gone, and to a church so far away; VV I got her number after tracing her mum’s salon, after all this years, and after  convincing the lady I met there to give me her number; and DDD I met on the 30th of November at 6 pm on my way back from work as I looked out of the cab. She was in the market not so far from the salon we’d first met, all of this just pure coincidence because she no longer works nor lives in Yaounde, and can’t tell why she came to the market that late and etc. Neither can I explain why I was in the cab, looking out at that time etc

image

Oh at last my DDD has a son, she who had been pronounced sterile!!! He is such a buoyant boy and already learning to play the xylophone or whatever that instrument is. I went to where she was visiting last evening, and invited them over for the night. In short, she had planned to return to Douala today, but will wait for me so we all return tomorrow.

For all she’s been through,  all the dreadful stories she told me last night, all the times she almost made it, lost it all and started again, she is really my DDD and Heroine.

Dear all, what a way to end the year? What glad tidings especially since my relocation home? I’ll be picking up Alain from Boarding House this Sunday precisely 3 months after he left. Am sure he’ll be equally thrilled to visit DDD and her son.

To celebrate it all, I am letting my hair grow again  – because I have my ultimate hairdresser back 🙂

To God be the Glory Great Things He Hath Done…

3 thoughts on “Dearest Darling Dorcas My Heroine”

  1. Dear Marie,

    What a lovely post about DDD!

    I wanted to tell you something that you might find interesting but that I love which is that I have ALWAYS loved the name Dorcas and wanted to be called Dorcas, instead of Pam… My oldest friend Mizzy H would attest to that. The thing is that in the United states no one ever likes the name because it reminds them of the insulting word “dork” which no one wants to be called…

    Anyhow to make a long story short people here laughed when I told them my beloved name and could never understand why I liked it so… So I stopped telling anyone. Only Mizzy now knows. But seeing your post about DDD was so wonderful because of course it made me realize Dorcas is in fact a lovely name, one, and two, your love for DDD would have made her name lovely even if it were missing the last two letters and sounded like the word that is so abhorred over here.

    Thank you!

    All my love

    Pam

    Ps feel free to post this… If you want to. I just wasn’t sure if it fit the post enough. Love you! P

    PP: Of course I am posting right away on my blog. It’s my dearest Pammy and am so happy to read from her while she goes through yet another crisis period.

    1. Yes Katelon, I am so glad too. I also like that I can tell them my story of since I left ‘disappeared in 2011, and feel the empathy in their all. So unconditional our friendship. Hmm, they even understand more about mental health and well being than those you would expect. Hence they are all the more special

Leave a Reply

