Images of, and musings about my uprising artist


image

image

image

image

For now, he is into drawings like these:

image

He started drawing as all kids probably do, on the walls, tables etc. I thought it was the  nursery school era. When he’ll see me coming with that reproachful look, he’ll immediately say in french: Mama est jolie ( Mama is beautiful). I mean for a child who spoke with some difficulty, how could you go on to scold him after such a sweet statement?

image

He later migrated to flowers for mama and then boats and houses.

image

This son of mine, David my Shepherd and King, is that artist and serene me. I just don’t want to overdo or miss out on anything if you get my point. But I sure want to encourage him all I can especially if his passion and talent is still around in a few years.

Please my e-family, what’s your take? Thanks in advance and all the best…

7 thoughts on “Images of, and musings about my uprising artist”

  1. It seems to me you are supporting this love of his. You might seek out art books or local art to show him the variety of mediums available. And perhaps art classes down the way..as long as the teacher supports creativity and honors a variety of expression.

    1. Dear Katelon, thanks so much for all your comments on my my modest blog. Sincerely I sometimes feel guilty I don’t reciprocate. I’ll make that a new year resolution 🙂
      Indeed, I have just been letting him draw with a crayon and pen on any paper he wants. Not even provided colours I bet. You know I have been away for Four years except for occasional vacation which was nothing you know. The boys and I are ‘rebounding’ physically and am learning so much you know. I have started looking out for art books and saw an art gallery owner who equally gives lessons. For now anyway, I’ll proceed by buying as many colours and crayons as I can 🙂

  2. Dear Marie,

    Sometimes all a child needs is Some charcoal and a piece of paper when he or she is a budding artist…and a mother’s love! It looks like your Michaelangelo has what he needs in abundance, and more. Many many artists start out scribbling their drawings on schoolbooks and inscribing them even into their desks and the trunks of trees. One would hope of course that young David knows where to draw and not to draw by now, and which property matters to whom! 8)

    as an aside, my first traumatic experience as a young student in school, was being blamed for sharpening chalk in our pencil sharpener in first grade, when the real artist of the school had done it and not i. But i was neither an artist at that time nor nasty enough to finger him as the culprit, so i simply took the blame. On the other hand, i somehow understood that he had done something inherently creative, needing that chalk with a sharp point for his blackboard drawings, which at that time i was incapable of.

    Anyhow, if at any time your David needs any art supplies that i could possibly send you, please let me know! I imagine and i believe you told me that parcels are not easy to send to Cameroon, but i would be happy to try…(and would send the other boys something too, so none woukd be left out, knowing how delicate that situation might feel!)

    Love, and a big hug to you!

    Have a Merry Christmas and a happy happy 2016 for all of you,

    Pam

    1. Pammy, this comment makes my day. Thank you so much. Let’s see how it goes by next year. I just came back and was amazed to see his devotion this much. Hence I took those pictures without his even being distracted by my presence. We’ll sure find a way, and even if only for David, the others would understand especially if the stuffs are art supplies. Alain is into science, while Gaby is just budding his way around. Seems like he could have been a good Jewish business man. Time will tell. I love you loads too and all the best from us 4 🙂

Leave a Reply

