Book Review: Grace Revealed by Greg Archer


Grace Revealed
Enter a caption

Grace-Full Revelations Indeed

When I was led to ordering a copy of this memoir by a friend (Dyane Leshin-Harwood over at proudly bipolar) , I couldn’t immediately reconcile the cover image to the title. Why is half of the face red although with sketches of flowers in gold on some spots? That is the graphic interpretation I gave to this thrilling memoir from the moment I started turning its pages. And this cover page actually guided my reading and understanding. A Simple but loving family existence catapulted by Stalin’s manic and cruel explosion, forced into a gruesome existence and ironically saved ‘indirectly’ by Hilter’s own manic and cruel exploits. The Grace that leads them from there via Iran to Africa and finally the US, the Grace that sees them settled but for ever unsettled. Everything changes but none dares to look at that squarely nor talk about it because the crucial thing all along has been surviving not speculating on why, what or even what if. The utmost Grace which through a series of signs, twists and turns leads author Greg Archer to though slightly hesitantingly, go searching for stories and answers even in the graveyard. To me it’s simply Amazing Grace. To live through that, get through that and stay sane through that is what makes this memoir captivating. The notion of predisposition to mental challenges is equally ilustrated herein, and I also find that appealing just as I do the historical narrations and revelations. Sometimes, after such traumatic experiences, there is need to deal and heal no matter how painful. That is therapeutic in the end and yes I admit Grace is needed to get there. It is for these reasons that I give this memoir a 5 whooping star and gracefully recommend it to all.

P.S This is one of those books I read and wished I didn’t. Thank God for Greg’s writting style which made more paletable if I could use this term. I read it in December but wasn’t up to doing a review just yet. I mean I don’t think I’ll ever have the grace or nuts to review the books I read on Hitler or the Holocaust

About the Author

Greg Archer_ Greg Archer is an award-winning journalist, humorist and cultural moderator. His journalism and man-on-the-street coverage of agents of change, arts, culture, travel and the entertainment industry appear regularly in The Huffington Post, San Francisco Examiner, Jetset Extra and on his popular YouTube portal. He has been a contributor to Oprah Magazine, The Advocate, VIA Magazine, Palm Springs Life, Bust, Prevention, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Monterey Herald and other publications and media outlets.

In his latest book, Grace Revealed: A Memoir, the author takes a step back from Hollywood to explore his Polish family’s past. In the process, he exposes one of the most under-reported events of the 20th Century: Joseph Stalin’s mass deportation of nearly 1 million Polish citizens to the Siberian gulags in the 1940s and the life-and-death events that followed. But the author’s quest takes a dramatic turn. As he walks an emotional tightrope between the past and the present, can a serendipitous overseas adventure become a saving grace, heal the ancestral soul and bring justice to his family and their forgotten Polish comrades?

“A powerful, haunting and heartfelt tale about one man’s attempt to embrace his Polish family’s past, shed light on the forgotten deported Poles of the 1940s, and expose the emotional ripple effects that remain. A story that resonates with all.” –Kristen Houghton / The Huffington Post and bestselling author of “For I Have Sinned” and “And Then I’ll Be Happy.”

In 2010, after writing about body image and eating disorders for Oprah Magazine, Greg Archer co-wrote and edited the popular health and wellness book “Shut Up, Skinny Bitches!”

Visit http://www.gregarcher.com

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Grace Revealed by Greg Archer”

  1. Thank you so much for writing this! I just re-read this book over the last two weeks and it made me thankful for my life, you know? I’m technically Jewish but I haven’t been able to read a single Holocaust book, and I don’t think I will.

    We need to let Greg know about this kind review of yours, yes? I thought I tagged him on Twitter. I’ll tweet from here…

    Thanks also for the shout-out/link – I appreciate it. XoXo

    1. Yes lady, I agree Greg should know because I sincerely think only Grace Grace, wonderful Grace, can lead you and be with you throughout such an endeavour. Thank you lady for being you and there 🙂

  2. Sorry for the multiple comments but I must say, Marie, that this is a beautifully written review. You truly capture all the obvious and subtle themes and elements in Greg’s book. He will be thrilled & honored to read it.

    1. Apology rejected because not warranted 😳 my reviews come from my ♥ What I felt and thought as I read 📖. I believe it’s equally amazing grace that I write 📝 thus huh? 😍

Leave a Reply

