Reproach them with love: it’s proven better results


image
This picture is so heady, I'll try reproaching it with love 🙂

Hello all the way from exotic limbe once again…

I came down here for some work and I am once more very early even though it’s 8 am and work it is claimed starts at 7.30 am…

A small scenario occurred yesterday evening on my return home and after nicely resolving it, I thought about such a post…

The neighbour above myself has 4 boys, my sons’ age but for the last one who’s still learning to talk… Yummy J…

So I come home and find obviously J’s cereal pack in front of my veranda, as well as his used wipe. That’s not the first time anyway… I ask his brother who I see on their balcony if that’s their trash… He weighs me up and says he’s not sure… Ok, the last tenant above has no kids now and is hardly home just like myself…

So I reason it out with big brother M and he finally agrees it’s J’s. I plead with him to come pick it up, and he frowns. I let him see that J can’t come pick that up and that when he was that age, someone did same for him…

He comes, picks the stuffs up, and heads for the gate to throw them on the street… I once more reason with him that’s not healthy nor clean now, and ask him if he loves a filthy environment… He thinks twice and shrugs… I ask him if he recalls what they teach in school about hygiene, and he proudly gives me a lesson even on washing hands…

We make up and he goes up with the litter to put in their trash can

Had I scolded and threatened, am not sure of the results nor that things may have become more complicated right?

I recall a relative who had become such a difficult case and not even her mum could stand living with her… She was threatened being sent to a juvenile institute…

I dared take her in, and though it wasn’t easy from the start, I didn’t give up… I gradually showed her I loved and trusted the soul in her, and I gave her responsibilities at home including running the daily budget…

Today, she has a home of her own, with children. She calls me mama, and is very often thanking me over and again…

Above all, I always try to put myself in their shoes and think how I would have appreciated being reproached back then…

For these reasons, I opt to reproach with love and logic and not lashes…

And you?

5 thoughts on “Reproach them with love: it’s proven better results”

    1. Bombo thanks for hopping by. This post sadly brought back some vicious memories. Maybe I also despise physical reproaches because I probably had one too many? Well, am ok with the way things turn out when I use love and logic 🙂

  1. You wrote,
    “Had I scolded and threatened, am not sure of the results nor that things may have become more complicated right”

    YES!!! I think that’s so true. I needed to read this today!!!!

    Thank you, darling Marie!!!
    p.s. ❤️ the gorgeous picture of YOU!!!!

    1. Sometimes when the rage boils up, I just leave the scene altogether and go wait to calm down, then I call the person be it my 6 year old boy, and we talk. I even tell him about the different emotions which went through me, and we reason out what could have happened if either of us behaved differently etc

Leave a Reply

