Ulla, let me grieve you out and wish you well…


Dear Ulla,

Vanilla scented candle with a butterfly for Ulla's Vigil
Vanilla scented candle with a butterfly for Ulla’s Vigil

I hope you smile at this candle I picked for you on my way home.

You see, I went to help a friend with some decoration project for a wedding she had lined up today, and while there I kept keeping in touch with what was up on your special day over on your street. I also reblogged a few post from other tribes’ buddies which celebrated you and what you taught, thought and shared… She freaked me out at one point by saying I was ever on my phone… I sighed saying if only she knew I was there just to escape from melancholy at home where I would otherwise have been glued to my laptop reading and writing away with tear filled eyes. She overstepped her boundaries when she sent someone into my handbag without my permission. I just screamed in me f… it and left.

I stopped by the supermarket and got a vanilla scented candle for you. Hope you don’t mind the scent. I think you’ll find that butterfly inside sarcastic or what…

You said I was a good writer and could do excellent if I kept at it? Ok now, I will need to find another proof reader and ‘candid sounding board’.

Ulla, today, I can’t and wouldn’t write much. I am reading all I come across on and for you, and keeping the vigil with the tribe. I know one day it shall be over for each and everyone of us too, but for now, we are here trying to strong for each other, trying to come to terms with life and its own ‘mental illness’, trying to survive this one more other day of grieving a dear one’s passing on…

I wish you well Ulla, sincerely and candidly I do… it just hurts to think it got so bad and there was nothing I or any of us could do… I thought I had learnt so much about the ‘illness’ to help someone since I failed so woefully to help my own brother (yes I know what you kept telling me about this), but hmm … I still have so much to learn even about my own self…

I grieve out you passing on, but I retain every memory of your gentle and kind soul. I’ll treasure the few emails and chats and I’ll always wish you well…

Burn away all night for Ulla
Burn away all night for Ulla
Hence I say Adieu Ulla
Hence I say Adieu Ulla
13 thoughts on “Ulla, let me grieve you out and wish you well…”

  1. You are, where you are meant to be. Thanks for checking out my post. It was about me, but it was for, and because of, Ulla. Marie, I know we have just met; however, if you need a proofreader, I love helping people that way. I have always had a thing for writing, proofing and editing! And I could try to be an ear as well. As you have seen, I have “been there”. Anyway, you can reach me on the contact page of my blog and I’ll answer for sure. Big hugs. This was a beautiful tribute to Ulla.I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  2. Hey, Marie!

    I’m loving your blog.

    Please, keep sharing your story!

    I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

  3. Hi Marie,

    I’m so sorry to hear this sad news. Although I don’t know how you feel, I understand the grief you’re carrying right now. Sudden deaths are the worse and always leave a hole inside out hearts. I pray you will find peace and strength at this difficult time.

    Thinking of you. 🙂
    xx

    1. Dear Junie, thanks for stopping by. I know you know how grief stings and straps you until you deal with… that’s what am trying and have always tried to do. Thanks for your prayer and all the best to you too

Leave a Reply

