Book Presentation : The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (A Toltec Wisdom Book) by Don Miguel Ruiz, Janet Mills


the-four-agreements

This book I read has been seven years on the new york times bestseller list! Having read a lot of books and their ratings for the ‘American’ literatture world, being on the new york times bestseller list is the ultimate deal. In the four agreements, Don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. The book is described as one based on ancient Toltec wisdom, and offers a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. This book did just that for me when I read it and re-read it. I am not worthy to review such a life transforming book – really that’s why I call this post a book presentation. I was introduced to this book by my dearest friend Pamela Wagner (and for those who think people living with a mental illness don’t know nothing, you are the loser)… I will just share the resume of the book and few of my highlights while reading this revolutionary book.

1) BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

2) DON’T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.

3) DON’T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.

4) ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are tired as opposed to well-rested. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.

Some of my higlights (cause I did like 160 – just to say I almost highlighted the whole book):

Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 15
We keep searching and searching, when everything is already within us.
the truth (my note)
Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 17
Just being ourselves is the biggest fear of humans.
vip (my note)
Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 17
We especially try to please the ones who love us, like Mom and Dad, big brothers and sisters, the priests and the teacher. Trying to be good enough for them, we create an image of perfection, but we don’t fit this image. We create this image, but this image is not real. We are never going to be perfect from this point of view. Never! Not being perfect, we reject ourselves. And the level of self-rejection depends upon how effective the adults were in breaking our integrity.
VIP VIP (my note)
Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 18
We dishonor ourselves just to please other people. We even do harm to our physical bodies just to be accepted by others.
oh my (my note)
Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 19
They wish to be a certain way, but they are not, and for this they carry shame and guilt.
hmm (my note)
Highlight (Yellow) and Note | Page 20
In your whole life nobody has ever abused you more than you have abused yourself. And the limit of your self abuse is exactly the limit that you will tolerate from someone else. If someone abuses you a little more than you abuse yourself, you will probably walk away from that person. But if someone abuses you a little less than you abuse yourself, you will probably stay in the relationship and tolerate it endlessly. If you abuse yourself very badly, you can even tolerate someone who beats you up, humiliates you, and treats you like dirt. Why? Because in your belief system you say, “I deserve it. This person is doing me a favor by being with me. I’m not worthy of love and respect. I’m not good enough.”
capital (my note) This was a wow wow wow so so so true for me

In summary, this book may not be one of the conventional ones but it is definitely one of those revolutionary and True to the Core ones. Maybe you’ll want to check this out and add to your Christmas ‘to read’ list?

6 thoughts on “Book Presentation : The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom (A Toltec Wisdom Book) by Don Miguel Ruiz, Janet Mills”

  1. I read this book a long time ago. Unfortunately, like with most books I read, I’ve forgotten everything! I doubt I even have it anymore since I lost or donated books whenever I’ve moved from place to place!

    But I’d prefer to read your presentation to remind me of the principles instead of reading the book again (even though it’s not that long) since I’ve been utterly overwhelmed and sorrowful. It’s all mother-related. She has been sending me tons of emotionally abusive texts, then silence for a few days, then back to the nasty, crazy texts. And so the pattern continues. Ugh.

    I owe you an email, by the way! Please forgive my tardiness.

    Sorry to be so gloomy. I send you & Ella lots of love, now & always, my lovely Lady Marie. Of course Lucy sends you her best!

    1. Dearest Captain, we are all in this together… thanks for your comment… so soulful… please take it easy and there’s nothing to forgive… we all run late sometime somehow…Look at agreement number 2 and maybe 3, don’t you think they can help us so so much?
      Hmm, thank Lucy for her shout out, tell her Miss Ella is soon going out of control. She makes and master her own schedule now, going out and coming back when and how she wants, door closed or not… am glad however, cause it means she ain’t baby no more 🙂

  2. Dang, i am trying to leave a comment via my ipad and it keeps leaving your page before i am finished, and also leaving the stratosphere without registering on your blog! Lord help me if this time it happens as well!

    I was so pleased to visit your blog today and find this oh so positive review of one of my all time faves in the book department. I rarely to never read self help books but this one just meant the world…i still can recite those four agreements and do so, frequently, whenever i feel myself slipping into , well, taking things personally, yet again, or as i so often do, using my words against myself in very “peccable” ways indeed.

    Your summary was brilliant and perfect. And the points you highlighted struck me as VIP too. When will the world ever stop parents from raising their children to hate themselves?!

    Anyhow, so glad to see this here. I just loved this book and still keep a copy on my shelved, even jf it is my third one, having given the others away to friends in my enthusiasm.

    Take care, marie. I love that Ella scales your window. My kitty, Beanie, tries to climb my screen door but the squirrels scare her away…so she just races up and down the stairs now to make sure she keeps her girlish figure! (Truth to tell, she dont give a fig about such things and neither do i at age 64, and i would not want any young girl — or kitty!– to waste her time thinking that such things matter as much as having strength and health and a good mind!)

    Love you,

    Pammy

    1. Dear Pammy, gladly and thank my heavens, stars, both known and unknown angels, this last attempt at commenting came to stay… thanks for your perseverance… it’s happened to me too sometimes and when I cursed within and threatened a last attempt, that was actually the one which worked hahaha
      You remember you referred me this book before I came to visit you? And now I have bought his other book and the Fifth Agreement by his Son. I mistakenly ordered them to be sent to Brussels hoping to go visit Fred; but Guess what the Belgian did: Deny me a VISA hahaha
      ok over to what you write… we both agree on the awesome book…
      As for Ella, am excited she is asserting herself that much and I tell people she takes after me her mama hahaha
      Of course I don’t don’t care about girlish or even womanish figure, I just be pleasing my self and loving my space… anyone not in agreement with my style (non conformist, unconventional etc), can work on their own style PERIOD… frankly, what matters is all you conclude your comment with.
      Love you and here’s to sooner than later 🙂

Leave a Reply

