Friends are the Family we chose for ourselves: My Soul Family


my-soul-family

Dear World, Another year is drawing to an end and I am still thinking how it started. In January this year, I was actually planning on moving into my own home and taking my boys to live with me, and this was a daunting project to say the least. Thanks very largely to the emotional support of my few but precious friends especially you out here on the blogosphere, I safely made that transition.

The above and several other reasons and scenarios, have come to confirm that saying to me: You my friends (my e-family as I have so fondly called you), are really part of my soul family: Indeed, unlike my birth family which I never chose, I chose each and everyone of you. I chose you because I had a choice not to. When I decide to chose a friend, I am very aware of what is at stake. Even when someone choses me, I have that choice not to reciprocate.

I therefore wanna sincerely thank you all my friends – my dear e-family (yes I barely have a palm full of offline friends – not to be confused with my throng of acquaintances) oh my, who can I name? Captain – Lady Dyane, Junie my dearest, Pammy sweet Pammy, Bradley of Bipolar Bear, Blah diaries of such sweet/sour memories … I can’t go on… such unconditional friendship – something deeper and redder than blood flowing in my veins when I think or reach out to you …

I wish us all so so much well – Life is so short, each day we learn of a death – sometimes more than one – I just wanna try my best till it’s my turn …

And now over to you: Do you agree friends could be the family we chose for ourselves? Any experiences you may wish to share?

friends-family

9 thoughts on “Friends are the Family we chose for ourselves: My Soul Family”

    1. Thanks Ada, you nail it. However, and whichever, when you have those friends who get to your soul by their unconditional and reciprocal friendship, they to me fit as Family. I know you know the types am talking of… Thanks once more for hosting me ans next year I’ll reblog those on my blog and hope those posts get more laughs

  1. Marie, my dear. You are so right. Our family is what we are born into but friends cross our paths for a reason. We can choose the ones we believe should have a place in our lives.

    Friends come and friends go. But some stay long term. Those are the ones that impact our lives in a positive way.

    Friends have been much more supportive to me than most of my family members. Friends are usually the ones I go to when I need encouragement or advice. When I do well and achieve a goal, friends will congratulate and support me more than my family.

    Over the years I have realized that the famil that stood by me no matter what were my daughters. Other family members are there but they are more interested in their immediate families.

    But, I thank God for families anyway. And I thank God for friends like you.

    Enjoy the rest of the day. x

  2. Marie, my dear. You are so right. Our family is what we are born into but friends cross our paths for a reason. We can choose the ones we believe should have a place in our lives.

    Friends come and friends go. But some stay long term. Those are the ones that impact our lives in a positive way.

    Friends have been much more supportive to me than most of my family members. Friends are usually the ones I go to when I need encouragement or advice. When I do well and achieve a goal, friends will congratulate and support me more than my family.

    Over the years I have realized that the famil that stood by me no matter what were my daughters. Other family members are there but they are more interested in their immediate families.

    But, I thank God for families anyway. And I thank God for friends like you.

    Enjoy the rest of the day. x

    1. I dunno but I don’t mind having them both, such happens and we chose how to handle that right dearie 🙂 Now you stop worrying and excusing yourself – just enjoy the day and season

Leave a Reply

