Roll out the Red carpet!!!Guest Post: Escaping the Nightmare


escaping-the-nightmare

Hello World; I know beyond reasonable doubt that consistent and engagind actions yield succulent fruits. Join me ye all gentle readers and followers of mine as I roll out the red carpet for my first guest post of the season: Ms Talasi Guerra of the epic blog Braver than BeforeRead on and tell for yourselves if the title of her guest post and even that of her blog don’t resonate with each of us in one way or the other.

talasi-guerra
Her smile is so sweet, I just had to put her picture here for more effect as we read on

Have you ever had that nightmare where you are desperately trying to run away from something or someone, but no matter how hard you strain, you just can’t get your body to move fast enough? It’s like there are these invisible wires attached to all of your limbs, pulling you in the opposite direction as you exert all of your energy to move ahead one inch at a time. While you don’t know exactly what the danger is, you are certain that it is just behind you and ready to pounce at any moment! And in your mind, you are running away with all your might! But in reality, you are moving more slowly than a weary sloth.

I’ve had this dream many, many times in my life. It is such a frustrating and disconcerting dream to wake up from. And though I have never made the connection until this moment, I think that living with anxiety is almost exactly like living in this nightmare.

When you live with anxiety, it is like there is this mysterious danger constantly looming over you, coming at you from every direction. Fear kicks in and tells you that you must run in order to survive, but you simply can’t move. Sometimes it seems that the harder you try to get away, the more stubbornly your body refuses to cooperate.

And yet somehow, though you can barely move at all, the negligible progress you are making depletes almost all of your energy. It is all you can do to survive at this point, never mind trying to dodge the danger. But giving up is not an option either. You can’t stop trying to run or the threat will catch up to you and you will face certain destruction. So you are stuck in a state of constant torment—the battle between the danger you perceive and your inability to escape this approaching doom.

I’ve lived like this for most of my life. It is an exhausting existence. Always running; always trying to escape. But quite frankly, I am tired of running. I am tired of attempting escape when I don’t have the energy to move. I am tired of fighting with a peril that I can’t even identify.

So that’s it then. It’s time for me to turn around and face the danger. It’s time for me to look this thing in the eye and say, “No. I’m not going to run from you anymore.” And something tells me that when I do—when I finally stand up to it—it will lose a little bit of its power. Each time I take a stand, it will lose a little bit more, and a little bit more, until the tables finally turn and it becomes the one on the run. In that moment, I will be the one chasing it… until it is gone forever!

About Talasi

Talasi Guerra is the Director of Children and Family Ministries and Graphic Designer at First Baptist Church in Lloydminster, Canada. She loves to write, travel, and create. Follow Talasi on twitter @talasiguerra. We are welcome to her blog where she invite us to Journey with her through the day-to-day mess of anxiety and fear as she seek to cultivate courage each and every day. She is a fighter and survivor, and although she battled an eating disorder for 7 long damn years, it’s now 10 years she escaped from that nightmare – Amen!!!

9 thoughts on “Roll out the Red carpet!!!Guest Post: Escaping the Nightmare”

  1. Thank you for writing this real fact of life article Talasi. I love your name. 🙂

    I’ve had many of those nightmare dreams. They’re awful. You described it just the way it is. When I try to run away from whatever is after me, my body feels like it dragging and I can barely move. It’s a terrible feeling.

    I’ve never made the connection before. But you’re right in saying it’s an anxiety issue. I’m learning to face my fears head on. Not easy, but necessary. Otherwise fear will keep me locked in a destructive box. And it’s not God plan for fear to control my life. So, the best way to deal with it is just to do the thing you fear. Afterward, you realise it wasn’t so bad after all.

    Have a good weekend. 🙂

    1. Hi June, thank you for sharing and for your encouragement! Isn’t it so strange that many different people can have the exact same kind of dream? But it does go to show that this issue of anxiety and fear is so prevalent in our world. And you are right. It is definitely not God’s plan for us!

      1. Talasi, I wouldn’t even say strange, I will actually say remarkable. This to me shows we are much more alike as the human race than we think we are different. I have learnt so so much since I started blogging and interracting with others. Actually helps me face more of my fears including that of acknowledging them head on on these public forums. One other thing I in so much awe of is how much faith I see in several people online considering all the prejudice and ideas of ‘faithless people out there’. Thanks so much for being my guest

    2. Wow Junie, we do learn so much from reaching out and sharing right? And when we think of our Almighty Father’s abundant Love & Grace, we know we can be comforted even in our smallest worries

  2. It takes a strong character to turn and face invisible “demons.” There really are only two choices in life in this situation.
    1. Continue running and NEVER be FREE
    2. Face the threat and create a new path to LEAD.

    It takes courage and energy to successfully overcome these hurdles. I hope she finds happiness and fulfillment on her adventure.

Leave a Reply

