Religious Fanatism…You hypocrites…


 

popes-words-on-lent

Hello world, I don’t care what people think or say, I don’t ‘flaunt’ my religion nor try to ‘throat’ it down anyone – gosh we are ere past the Inqisitions. I have dabbled into various religions at different times of my life, and even at some point left all thing to do with Religion. That didn’t mean Jesus wasn’t in my heart and life, better still I loved doing good and striving to be a good person. So, if after my ‘religious prostitution’ (let me use the kind of strong language Jesus himself will use when He shouts out: ‘hyprocrites’), I re-settle as a ‘Catholic’ (even if with yes still some reservations) I got ash today reminding me of my ‘vanity’ – we will all die but how we live matters, then who am I to think I am better off or should belong or shun or ‘judge’ someone because of their religion or absence thereof?

I have simply come to the conclusion that religion or my religion has nothing to do with spiritual wellbeing if I neglect my personal relationship with Jesus and my fellow human being. To me, it boils down to the form of external worship in fellowship I am most ok with… interprete that as you wish…

Now, the Pope is ‘Catholic’, but I have seen him embrace such universality and all values, I am in awe. I just read him urging people to give to the homeless this lent not caring on what they spent the donations….

What makes you a better christian than the other, or even a better human being?

Fasting for me is not only during lent, I actually love fasting whenever I feel like and from whatever I feel in my spirit to fast from and for whatever duration and etc. I once barred religion and politics from my blog because I was noticing some recurrent comments trying to patronize this blog as one of Religious orientation – manifestation etc etc: I leave my blog and life open and really don’t even want to know what is whoever’s religion or no religion … so long as they are not hurting me and are just trying to be good people.

Without spewing more, I just want to share today’s gospel reading which you don’t have to be a catholic to appreciate. The bible is there for all and you can read it and call it what you like…

Faith without deeds is useless… preaching without Love and Charity and tolerance is useless…

Matthew 6:1-6.16-18

‘Be careful not to parade your uprightness in public to attract attention; otherwise you will lose all reward from your Father in heaven.

2 So when you give alms, do not have it trumpeted before you; this is what the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets to win human admiration. In truth I tell you, they have had their reward.

3 But when you give alms, your left hand must not know what your right is doing;

4 your almsgiving must be secret, and your Father who sees all that is done in secret will reward you.

5 ‘And when you pray, do not imitate the hypocrites: they love to say their prayers standing up in the synagogues and at the street corners for people to see them. In truth I tell you, they have had their reward.

6 But when you pray, go to your private room, shut yourself in, and so pray to your Father who is in that secret place, and your Father who sees all that is done in secret will reward you.

16 ‘When you are fasting, do not put on a gloomy look as the hypocrites do: they go about looking unsightly to let people know they are fasting. In truth I tell you, they have had their reward.

17 But when you fast, put scent on your head and wash your face,

18 so that no one will know you are fasting except your Father who sees all that is done in secret; and your Father who sees all that is done in secret will reward you.

Shalom

6 thoughts on “Religious Fanatism…You hypocrites…”

  1. I agree with you that our faith is a private and personal thing and our actions are the expression of that faith and belief. Kindness and generosity is all there is.
    Thank you, Marie, for this wonderful reminder.

    1. Buffalo I just smelled you liking my no nonsense post. Thanks for commenting too. I don’t care if some prefer to sleep in church and pray till the cows come home – or whatever the expression; yet they should also respect those who don’t – well unless u wanna be Amish and shouldn’t even be blogging right?

      1. Right.The Mennonites and Amish don’t use computers. I do admire them for their dedication to their beliefs: Community, kindness, peace and generosity.
        I was reminded, in your post, that people who are actually kind and generous don’t have to tell people they are kind and generous because it constantly shows. LOL! In the same way that bad people don’t have to tell you they’re bad…

      2. You get it. You see it in their stare, the way they point their tiny fingers like they run the world, the words they speak even if with some kind mingles still make u smell danger… You are right. I didn’t know about menonotes… Now there’s a blogger who goes by menithology following me let me check them out lol

  2. I like that you tell it like it is. I hate when people use religious tradition to judge and marginalize other people. Jesus was OBVIOUSLY so against that, so I don’t know why people use Him as an excuse to embrace it!

    1. You know Hazel I sometimes really pity big J. In His name today trillions are made and all kinds of atrocities are committed and people are rejected, abused and etc. He didn’t mix his words even when he lashed people selling in the temple, and who were his main friends? Who did he say he came for? I will say it as is especially on my platforms both here and in real life… I am an unconventional and no nonsense lady. I have seen so plenty in life I can’t just conform any longer. Thanks for your comment

Leave a Reply

