With Sincere Gratitude to my Eternal Friend: I Give Myself permission…


I Give Myself Permission

permission slip

Ain’t waiting no more for no one

Life is short & sweet & sour

How would I even know if I don’t live

the now is here and no point worrying

the future is a streak and yet mayn’t be

Hence I give myself permission…

to be me

Wouldn’t wait to know it all

Even science can’t keep it up

We all are an individual value

Should I let any one make & keep me sour

Joy & happiness is just a short distance

no chaos & creeks should blur my vision

Hence I give myself permission…

I give myself permission

All I got are my voice & word

Not taking it personal means to keep it out

All mental space I have is taken

With thoughts of a rosy here & now

I wouldn’t assume: I’ll just do my best

still it’s okay every now & then to falter

Hence I give myself permission…

Give yourself permission

P.S: I am eternally grateful for serenity and I see that in all the poems I write these days regardless of the circumstances. This poem oh my is in one of those my special categories, indeed YOU ARE BEST WHEN YOU ARE: YOU

6 thoughts on “With Sincere Gratitude to my Eternal Friend: I Give Myself permission…”

  1. Oh Marie, my beauty, my lawyer of choice, I love you!
    I really needed to read this poem tonight.

    I’m trying to be me, I’m trying really hard to give myself permission.
    It is *hard* tonight. It has been a very rough week. I was sick for most of it, and then I had a few friends all let me down at once.

    But to know that you are out there, my kindred spirit, truly helps.
    And I am SOOOOOO honored you listened to my podcast 3 times!!!!!
    I think you’ll like the next one even more because I let myself be myself a little more! I gave myself permission! 😉

    XOXOXOOXOXOXOOXOXXOXOX

    1. Darling, give yourself permission to cry, feel the hurt and heal the best. Give yourself permission to be patient with yourself to try and keep trying to let go. So much in and around you crying for your attention and you deserve to be you, to let go and to forgive even yourself. Wishing you the best this weekend.

  2. A beautiful poem that many eyes should read and hearts experience.

    We write to help improve the lives of others (as well as ourselves.) We focus on “numbers” because we feel our efforts are fruitless unless many benefit. If each person in the U.S. only helped 1 person, (1 life) approximately 380 million lives would prosper. I promise, however, your efforts will not stop at helping 1 life!

    Keep working hard to create the life you choose to live. It WILL help so many others!

  3. Marie, this is a beautiful poem and goes way beyond words. So as I found myself taking the advice to ‘give permission to be me’, I thought to myself, ‘But who am I?’ Who am I giving permission to? What if I don’t like that person? Maybe I should figure out who I am first before handing free reign to ‘me’. It was not so easy as I had thought. What if there’s some prejudice in me I wouldn’t want to ‘give permission’ to? What if ‘me’ is spiteful, a procrastinator, vengeful, I thought, then I wouldn’t want to give ‘me’ permission! Oh dear. Maybe I should selectively give ‘me’ permission? Then again, what if ‘me’ is loving, kind, honest, a good friend, empathetic, yes, I thought, then I will want to give ‘me’ total permission to be me! Should I then wait to analyze and fix ‘me’ first?
    So you see my friend, it wasn’t so easy as I had thought but one thing for sure it did further trigger, the quest to find ‘me’ (as I am already on that journey).
    So, thank you!!!!

    1. Hi Frances, first of thank you so much for your soulful comment. I recongize it as flowing because that’s how it flows from me too when ‘triggered’. That indeed was the inspiration behind this poem because I realized thanks to my eternal friend that I could, should and was indeed giving myself permission to know more of me while being and accepting the me as is, and then taking all the measures I could to change what I didn’t like, doing my best to be the best I could be. You see, I have come to embrace all the several MEs who have existed and still do, I have discovered how to bloom through them all as best as I can, dealing and healing from the angles I don’t appreciate and giving myself permission to be more of what I appreciate. It is a whole process, but baby steps are steps too. Give yourself permission even to falter and to forgive yourself and others. One day you’ll tell me your story that I wish my friend.

Leave a Reply

