Experiences with two different teachers at my son’s school & related musings


Hello world, I want to share these experiences I had with two different teachers at my son’s school just this week. I share them to express myself, but also because who knows who has had any similar experiences or could be inspired and motivated etc?

My son took a story book to school and some drawings and none came back. I needed some answers more than he was giving so I went to his school last week. He was in a class which had recently been divided into two and he moved again, this means he had started making friends who stayed in let’s say the A and now he was starting all over in the B. Now, this makes two teachers involved and kids in the two classes too. Indeed the story book happened to be with a pupil in the A class who had left it back home, and the drawings were with different pupils in the B class. I was told by both teachers the stuffs will be collected the following day and returned to my son and he’ll bring them home before the weekend.

This week came and nothing was returned home, so I went to the school today because well I don’t know and need to know what’s the real situation. This is where the experiences come up:

  1. Teacher A gets frustrated I come often (this is the 3rd time am going there and well it seems too much), he tells me am overeacting over nothing and he doesn’t know what my son tells me back home and he thinks my son is a ‘brat’ and he’s glad my son is no longer in his class;
  2. Teacher B is empathetic and even glad I come to follow up such issues even if they may seem trivial. Few parents he says care to stop by at all even when PTA meetings are called up (this I know – they are called once a school and last time only 3 parents showed up in one’s class meeting for the one hour I was there). He actually tells me he thinks my son who transitioned sections (bilingual to pure anglo saxon), is coping just fine and he thinks it is also because I help him at home both formally and informally (very correct). Teacher B concludes that when a parent comes to school it boosts both the pupil and teacher’s morale for obvious reasons.

Huh, I was a bit perplexed and you know A class is one row of stairs above B class. So I had gotten the showdown in A up and was brooding as I went down the stairs to meet teacher B who turned out cool.

Well I was back there again the following day because my boy had come back home the previous day without 6 good exercise books. I needed to know if he actually forgot them in his desk or etc. Luckily by the time I got there he had already found them and I didn’t need to see any of the teachers.

What you make of these experiences people?

More Musings

Talking about experiences in their school, one came home in near tears because he had worked so hard but got a very discouraging note. I saw the script, looked at his school lessons and the text book and nothing made sense. Now he showed me a classmate’s script and same answer but 4 notes more. When he had even dared complain to the teacher, he had been removed the mere 2 he had and the other student got added 2. What? How could I let this go? I went there and saw the proprietor himself and explained the situation, he called the head teacher and they said to not worry all was going to be sorted out. They better do because am not one to give in or up any easy.

I mean that same teacher marked two answers wrong again in another subject and I know the answers myself – what the boy wrote. Eg HIV: Boy writes Human Immune Virus and teacher marks wrong saying it means Human Immuno Deficiency Virus (wtf). I don’t even know if to take this other paper back to the school…

Parenting ain’t easy, not to mention single motherhood. But I try my best each day and don’t want my boys traumatised or stiffled because some teacher thinks they are too upfront. I also go these schools so the teachers can tell me directly if there is any concern like I equally learnt about one of them playing wild and taking stuffs not his.

To all parents, single mothers and even teachers in the house, more grease to our elbows.

Happy weekend all

P.s: you remember a poem I once wrote about: “when no one wanted her”. Yes one who had literary dropped out of school is graduating today with a diploma in transport and logistics. How proud should I be of my contributions to the amazing young woman and wife she is now?

7 thoughts on “Experiences with two different teachers at my son’s school & related musings”

  1. Teachers comments and ideas are subjective and can come off as rigid at times. It is good to know there was a teacher at the school with a more well rounded viewpoint. As a teacher, I consider all angles when grading and looking at the effort of my students.

    1. Thanks for your comment Mimshe. Although I teach bigger students at Post graduate level, I do same although I admit so many of my students have told me I am the best teacher they’d ever had. Yes, the sad reality here is that teachers rely more on fear and submission to teach and shun parental involvement or interference in anyway. When I just came back, my first son invited me to a football game he was playing in at his then boarding school. Although parents had been told they could come, not only was I the only parent there but they never started on time lol. Some parents have also long abandoned the ‘teaching’ of their children to teachers. Could we talk of a catch 22 here?

  2. Schools seem to be very similar around the world. Many teachers accept the job as a source of income rather than a career choice with opportunity to inspire.

    Learning to communicate with a teacher so that they perceive the parent as a nurturing supportive entity rather than a meddling overprotective individual can be challenging. Many insecure teachers feel confronted rather than understanding the parent is searching for results and answers that suit their children.

    I can certainly appreciate all your efforts knowing how much your children mean to you.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment doctor. I have in the more delicate situations preferred to see the dean than meet the Teacher and he feels more insecured you know. But am also prepared to let go and focus on my boys themselves of course. So much to learn and do in life right?

Leave a Reply

