Sometimes in the mist of it…


Sometimes in the mist of it

A soul may be searching

But not know how to seek

Sometimes in the mist of it

A heart may be hurting

But not know how to heal

Sometimes in the mist of it

A hug may be needed

But none knows how to ask/give

Sometimes in the mist of it

Empathy may be needed

Even if not fully appreciated

Sometimes in the mist of it

We want out of that mist

We need help

We want to scream

But the voice is stuck

The stare and tears

The silence and ramblings

The actions and reactions

Oh sometimes in the mist of it

Lots of patience, love and empathy

Can actually clear the mist

(c) Marie Abanga

WMHD_bannerP.S: Ahead of World Mental Health Day Tomorrow under the theme: Mental Health at the workplace.

Near 9 years later, I finally get the honour and grand style opportunity to show my supervisor at that time how much I appreciate her empathy when I lost my daughter the day after she was born. She was the only person I can remember from my office who called, visited and followed up how best she could in the aftermath. (2 others came along with her on that visit but that was that – I don’t hold it against anybody anyway) She understood when I’ll call the office so in tears not able to come to work. She once chastised me when I visited her and looked like whatever, to go upstairs and sleep (I must have slept 5 hours that day at her home). I can never forget. So if you ever read this, know that the whole world now knows how much I appreciate.

9 thoughts on “Sometimes in the mist of it…”

  1. Your supervisor is an amazing human. Aren’t we all seekers in this journey of life? Your composition bears a deep impact on the scars and gently remind us on the need to pick the thread to find this force, Marie.

    1. Dear Visha, indeed she is and with such a soft voice I have finally been able to get one too lol. I used to strain so much to hear what she was saying and struggle to keep my voice down, now others tell me my voice is just like hers. That’s how much she influenced me. Yes the scars were real and a year to that date although 5 months pregnant I picked up a knife… glad am still here today and yes on the other side of hopeless…I share to shine us all on

Leave a Reply

